#1  
Old 26th May 2007, 10:12
theboy theboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question postfix on VPS

Hi,
I have installed postfix on my vps(centos4.5) .It has plesk that by default
installed qmail. So I remove qmail rpm . Now when I telnet to
[root@vps111 ~]# telnet 127.0.0.1 25
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to 127.0.0.1.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 vps111.dom.com ESMTP Postfix
---its OK

ifconfig

venet0 inet addr:127.0.0.1
venet0:0 inet addr:1.4.4.14
venet0:1 inet addr:1.4.4.15

It does not have any iptable firewall .
[root@vps111 ~]# iptables -nL
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

I can connect to the server through ssh . But I can not telnet to 25 port
of any of those ip(1.4.4.14/15) from inside or outside.
[root@vps111 ~]# telnet 1.4.4.14 25
Trying 1.4.4.14...
telnet: connect to address 1.4.4.14: Connection refused

[root@vps111 ~]# telnet 1.4.4.15 25
Trying 1.4.4.15...
telnet: connect to address 1.4.4.15: Connection refused

Also my /etc/hosts file is also rewritten ... by some old value ?

Can any one suggest what to do ? Please help me.Thanks.

Last edited by theboy; 26th May 2007 at 10:16.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th May 2007, 16:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
? What's the value of inet_interfaces in /etc/postfix/main.cf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2007, 16:14
theboy theboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
Thx for reply . The postfix problem is solved . But there is another
problem . My /etc/hosts file is rewritten by a process (I faill to detect ,how?)
I have change the/etc/hosts ...but after reboot it rewritten by old value along with my values . Can you give me idea ...what to do ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2007, 16:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
 
Default

I think this happens because it's a virtual machine. The hosts file is generated from the virtual machine's configuration file (which is on the host system) each time the vm is booted.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with Postfix using "Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL" Kyse HOWTO-Related Questions 15 6th January 2007 15:35
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 15:47
Verify email setup meekish Installation/Configuration 28 27th October 2006 15:36
Problem occurs after installing postfix into a VPS Guido64 Server Operation 3 27th March 2006 12:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.