Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th May 2007, 11:29
pesja pesja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Centos 5 Installation problem (hanging)

Hello,

I try to set up a new ISPConfig system with Centos 5. After a normal install (first 2 pages of the perfect install) I tried to update the instalation with "yum update", but it look's like it's hanging on "setting up repositories".
Off course I imported the rpm-gpg key. I also can ping outside the network and also can contact the server with putty.

I never had this problem with my other Centos (4.3 and 4.4) Servers so maby it's a version 5 problem? They also run into aVMWare server enviremont.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th May 2007, 14:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,804
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
Default

How long did you wait? It may take some time when the repositories are very busy.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th May 2007, 16:44
pesja pesja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I waited about 30 minutes with this text as the result.

====
[root@narcis ~]# yum update
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?releas...h=i386&repo=os error was
[Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (110, 'Connection timed out')>
Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: base
[root@narcis ~]#
====

As I said before:

- I can login with ssh
- I can also ping outside the network, like for instance ispconfig.com

I really don't have a clue what's wrong.

I also tried to install CentOs 4.5 but also no go. After that I tried Debian Etch and everything went well.

What's happened?????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2007, 16:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,804
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
Default

What happens if you run:

wget http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?releas...h=i386&repo=os

I just tested the above URL and it downloads fine from ym server, so I guess it is a problem with your internet connection or name resolution.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th June 2007, 04:14
imoboss imoboss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same problem
I can ping my machine inside and outside network

when i run
Code:
wget http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=5&arch=i386&repo=os
i get this
Code:
--05:05:40-- http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=5
Resolving mirrorlist.centos.org.. failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
Please help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th June 2007, 11:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,804
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
Default

Please make sure that the nameservers listed in /etc/resolv.conf are reachable from your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th June 2007, 17:58
wkdboi wkdboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wkdboi Send a message via MSN to wkdboi Send a message via Yahoo to wkdboi
Default

--15:53:23-- http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=5
Resolving mirrorlist.centos.org.. failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.

I have checked my /etc/resolv.conf files and have even add both my route at 10.0.0.1 and my ISP's DNS Server's in their also.

But still error's

What should the ARCH setting in resolv.conf be.

Mine was mad2.co.uk I am sure that is not correct

I have it working now.

Last edited by wkdboi; 26th June 2007 at 18:03.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2007, 19:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

Please try this in your /etc/resolv.conf:
Code:
nameserver 145.253.2.75
nameserver 193.174.32.18
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 13:20
MySQL related Installation Problem crn_admin Installation/Configuration 5 10th August 2006 20:03
ISPConfig-2.2.2 installation problem (empty mysql db after installation) sfrank Installation/Configuration 4 25th May 2006 15:56
Warning CentOS 4.3 Installation d3m0nic HOWTO-Related Questions 3 19th April 2006 16:40
Problem installing on CentOS 4.2 bokko Installation/Configuration 4 1st March 2006 18:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.