#1  
Old 17th November 2005, 13:01
protocol protocol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Using the domain as prefix

Hello all. Please point me to any documentation on what prefixes may be used as a... prefix when creating usernames for email accounts.

I remind all that the default is:
web[WEBID]_

... which is not ok for me. I wish i could use part of the domain name for this web site as a prefix, e.g. if the site was www.php.net, i wish i could use the word 'php' as a prefix. Is there a way to do this? Are there other "globals" (such as the WEBID) for adding there.

Please assist.

Panos
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th November 2005, 13:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,388
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Please have a look in the new ISPConfig FAQ:

http://www.howtoforge.com/faq/index....=47&artlang=en
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th November 2005, 13:16
protocol protocol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Till. However, what does [DOMAIN] or [HOST] mean? In the case of 'www.php.net' what would [DOMAIN] give me?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th November 2005, 13:25
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

I think it would be "php.net"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th November 2005, 13:30
protocol protocol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th November 2005, 13:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,388
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protocol
Thank you Till. However, what does [DOMAIN] or [HOST] mean? In the case of 'www.php.net' what would [DOMAIN] give me?
if you have a domain www.yourdoamin.com,then:

[HOST] => www
[DOMAIN] => yourdoamin.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th November 2005, 15:42
IntnsRed IntnsRed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 49
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Great thread!

When viewing the WebX_ prefix, I thought it was odd but figured I could live with it.

It's great to learn that it can be changed to the domain name. My $0.02: IMHO, that should be the ISPConfig default -- it's much more logical to both end-users and admins alike.
________
Silver surfer vaporizer

Last edited by IntnsRed; 4th March 2011 at 04:02.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th November 2005, 16:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,388
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
 
Default

The problem is, if you have a domain that is e.g 10 - 15 chars long plus the suername, it may exceed the max. length for linux usernames and you wont be able to use the username.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 10:56
Can't send outside domain ejkeebler Server Operation 2 12th November 2005 22:01
Email sent to domain being rejected Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 9 25th October 2005 11:17
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58
choose domain for new emailadresse not possible fuban General 4 5th September 2005 10:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.