#11  
Old 31st May 2007, 08:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Have you tested your solution with the eicar virus test pattern and does it really filter viruses? You need a running clamd daemon for this and I do not see where you configuare and start clamd automatically as ISPConfig does not ahs a clamd daemon.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 31st May 2007, 11:04
Morons Morons is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Default Carefull

cjc81, Althow there is an clamd script installed with the ispconfig (comes with clamassasin) it require and clamd daemon to be running.
Code:
updatedb
locate clamd
ps ax |grep clamd
check whether the daemon is running, as till sais use eicar test!
If not running switch on the yum installed clamd daemon and change the config to use it according to the locate you did above.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st May 2007, 11:09
Morons Morons is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I would like to ask ISPConfig to perhaps consider using clamd instead of clamscan by default. I only relised now that I had to upgrade hardware on 2 other installs before this that would have been unnessesary if we switched!
Maybe add an option to switch the two methods.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31st May 2007, 12:22
cjc81 cjc81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to cjc81
Default

Yes sir, i tried the test pattern and the mail got filtered out. (ie. its working properly)

Also, clamd daemon is running. Do i need to add that to chkconfig to make sure that clamd daemon is running when system starts?

I am also monitoring my running processes via "top". I only see clamd coming active there are mail activities.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31st May 2007, 12:32
Morons Morons is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjc81
Yes sir, i tried the test pattern and the mail got filtered out. (ie. its working properly)

Also, clamd daemon is running. Do i need to add that to chkconfig to make sure that clamd daemon is running when system starts?

I am also monitoring my running processes via "top". I only see clamd coming active there are mail activities.
Yes this is were the issue comes in. Currently you have 2 installations of clamd, one installev via ISPC / clamassasin part and one using yum, Also 2 x freshclam. each updating its database residing in diferent places.
Now, that being the case the versions might be diffrent! also make sure the you inspect the headers of an mail comming through to see the scan successfull! I have this in my header. The No mean there is no virus found!
Code:
X-Virus-Status: No
X-Virus-Checker-Version: clamassassin 1.2.4 with clamdscan / ClamAV 0.90.2/3334/Thu May 31 10:54:25 2007
Not all distro's have the chkconfig command, it seems to be maintained by the "redhat" derivatives and yes to make sure the yum installed version is running use
Code:
chkconfig clamd on
The ISPC version will not start automatically, if my analysis is correct. Till can perhaps comment on this.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 1st June 2007, 05:45
cjc81 cjc81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to cjc81
Default

I was wondering if i could copy /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/sbin/clamd
to
/etc/init.d
then add it to chkconfig to get it to run when system start?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 1st June 2007, 09:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,499 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjc81
I was wondering if i could copy /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/sbin/clamd
to
/etc/init.d
then add it to chkconfig to get it to run when system start?
This will not work because in /etc/init.d are the start scripts for the daemins and not the daemin binaries itself. If you want to run the clamd daemon /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/sbin/clamd, you will have to craete a start script for it in /etc/init.d.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 1st June 2007, 12:38
plucchetti plucchetti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

clamd.amavisd is the same as clamd???

Last edited by plucchetti; 1st June 2007 at 12:41.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2nd June 2007, 10:34
cjc81 cjc81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 27
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to cjc81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
This will not work because in /etc/init.d are the start scripts for the daemins and not the daemin binaries itself. If you want to run the clamd daemon /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/sbin/clamd, you will have to craete a start script for it in /etc/init.d.
Ah i c.

Thanks. I second Morons's suggestion of havig CLAMD being used as default in ISPCONFIG.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 8th June 2007, 15:37
XPinG XPinG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Hi all, I post my little contribution on how I did on my FC5 server

first I followed the steps posted by cjc81 (thanx man) then :

I enabled logging in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/etc/clamd.conf

Code:
LogFile /var/log/clamd.log
I created and changed the owner of the log file to admispconfig

Code:
touch /var/log/clamd.log
chmod admispconfig.admispconfig /var/log/clamd.log
I've put a starting script in /etc/init.d/clamd that I hacked to run the clamd from ispconfig

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# clamd         Script to start/stop clamd.
#
# chkconfig:    - 61 39
# description:  clamd is an antivirus daemon.
#
# processname: clamd
# config: /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/etc/clamd.conf
# pidfile: /var/run/clamd.pid
#
# Source function library
. /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions
# Get network config
. /etc/sysconfig/network
#
test -f /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/etc/clamd.conf || exit 0
#
RETVAL=0
#
start() {
       echo -n $"Starting Clam AV daemon: "
       daemon /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/sbin/clamd
       RETVAL=$?
       echo
       [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && touch /var/lock/subsys/clamd
       return $RETVAL
}
#
stop() {
       echo -n $"Stopping Clam AV daemon: "
       killproc clamd
       RETVAL=$?
       echo
       [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f /var/run/clamd.pid /var/lock/subsys/clamd
       return $RETVAL
}
#
restart() {
       stop
       start
}

reload() {
       echo -n $"Reloading DB: "
       killproc clamd -USR2
       RETVAL=$?
       echo
       return $RETVAL
}
#
case "$1" in
 start)
       start
       ;;
 stop)
       stop
       ;;
 status)
       status clamd
       ;;
 restart)
       restart
       ;;
 condrestart)
       [ -f /var/lock/subsys/clamd ] && restart || :
       ;;
 reload)
       reload
       ;;
 *)
       echo $"Usage: $0 {start|stop|status|restart|condrestart|reload}"
       exit 1
esac
#
exit $?
and execute

Code:
chmod 700 /etc/init.d/clamd
chkconfig --add clamd
chkconfig --level 2345 clamd on
service clamd start
__________________
Xtrem Studios http://www.xtrem-studio.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to XPinG For This Useful Post:
cjc81 (8th June 2007)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTP Server Behind Router backscratcher Server Operation 9 1st August 2010 13:18
Error 553 for Set Up Postfix For Relaying Emails Through Another Mailserver ugach HOWTO-Related Questions 11 15th February 2009 16:57
pure-ftp woes d3th_n1gG4 Server Operation 4 24th January 2007 13:11
getting proftpd to work with TLS Ovidiu Server Operation 11 19th August 2006 20:31
really slow website access itgroup Installation/Configuration 2 17th July 2006 15:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.