Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th May 2007, 17:40
HMK HMK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Still unsure about subdomains...

(Apologies for posting in the wrong forum initially...)

--------------


Hi; I have a domain (abc.com). I use my registrar's nameservers (I cannot change this), and have created A records for my domain:

Nameservers:
ns1.ozregistrar.com
ns2.ozregistrar.com

A record:
www.abc.com --> 202.111.222.333 (my server)

In ISPConfig, everything works fine for my domain: when I type www.abc.com into my browser, I get straight to my home page.

--------------
HOWEVER, I need to create independent subdomains (with associated email addresses) that point as follows:

www.123.abc.com --> http://www.google.com
www.456.abc.com --> http://www.yahoo.com

AND

someone@123.abc.com --> john.citizen@aol.com
whoever@456.abc.com --> mary.citizen@harvard.edu

--------------

I have checked the forums, and tried to follow instructions, but I have had no success. Can someone help me out, please? I would be grateful for *explicit* instructions.

I would like to create the subdomains on ISPConfig (not with my registrar).

Thankyou for your help.
HMK
Australia.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th May 2007, 10:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,036
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Hi,

just create websites for the other domains and add e.g. a script or html page with a header redirect as index document. Then create the email accounts for the websites and redirect the emails.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
HMK (22nd May 2007)
  #3  
Old 19th May 2007, 02:55
HMK HMK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thankyou...but still no success

Thankyou, Till.

But it is the creation of the other (sub)domains that is causing the initial problem.

I have tried both of the following scenarios without success:

----------------------

1.
Server: MyServer
Hostname: 123
Domain: abc.com
IP Address: 192.68...
Create DNS: Unchecked
Create DNS-MX: Unchecked

(Co-domains: empty)

2.
Server: MyServer
Hostname: www
Domain: 123.abc.com
IP Address: 192.68...
Create DNS: Checked
Create DNS-MX: Unchecked

(Co-domains: empty)

----------------------

What am I doing wrong? It is creating the actual subdomains (www.123.abc.com, etc.) in the first place that is causing the problem.

Thankyou
HMK.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th May 2007, 09:46
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

Hi

since you don't need an email somebody@www.123.abc.com you don't have to create a new domain for www.123.abc.com

You'll have to do the following:

1. Create new domain

Server: MyServer
Hostname: 123
Domain: abc.com
IP Address: 192.68...
Create DNS: checked
Create DNS-MX: checked

2. create emails in this domain
Set the forward role for each email in the Advanced Settings
e.g. someone@somwhere.com

3. create codomain
Hostname: www
Domain: 123.abc.com
Create DNS: checked
Create DNS-MX: unchecked
Forward: http://www.forwardURL.com

That should do it.

I have an Asterisk rule for my main domain e.g. *.domain.tld CNAME domain.tld which allows me to create as many subdomains as I want without creating new DNS entries all the time.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to torusturtle For This Useful Post:
HMK (22nd May 2007)
  #5  
Old 19th May 2007, 13:45
HMK HMK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Thankyou very much

Thankyou very much, torusturtle.

I will try what you suggested and will report back in due time. (I might contact you again about your asterisk rule, too.)

I do appreciate your clear instructions...thankyou again.

HMK
Australia.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th May 2007, 23:32
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

Hi HMK

I'm happy to help!
It's my contribution to this great product and I know how it is to have a unsolved problem. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th May 2007, 22:11
HMK HMK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Alas, still not working...

I created a new subdomain (test1.abc.com) 36 hours ago using the instructions above, but unfortunately it is still not working:

"Internet explorer cannot display the webpage."
"Ping request cannot find host test1.abc.com"

(No success with email either, of course, nor with the subdomain www.test1.abc.com.)

The parent domain (www.abc.com) continues to work as normal. (This came online just a couple of hours after being created.)

Refreshing the browser makes no difference.

Should I continue to wait? Or try something else?

Thankyou.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st May 2007, 10:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,036
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Please check the domain that you craeted at your registrar. As ping is not configured by ISPConfig, it should work even if you configured ISPConfig wrong, so the problem must be that the DNS A-Record for test1.abc.com is not creted correctly at your registrars DNS server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
HMK (22nd May 2007)
  #9  
Old 22nd May 2007, 04:48
HMK HMK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thankyou so much, Till and torusturtle.

The problem was at my registrar, as you indicated. I did not realise that I had to create separate A records for each subdomain, but in the end I used an asterisk rule, and everything is working perfectly.

I am very grateful to you both. Thankyou for taking the time to reply; it is thrilling to see everything working as it should.

HMK
Melbourne, Australia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Domains and Subdomains braakiss Installation/Configuration 8 16th August 2007 15:27
Unsure about subdomains HMK HOWTO-Related Questions 1 17th May 2007 17:43
domains, subdomains, webspace, bandwidth.. TheRudy General 17 19th February 2007 19:31
subdomains and ispconfig thesquib Installation/Configuration 4 1st December 2006 16:24
postfix + subdomains andypl Installation/Configuration 6 23rd June 2006 18:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.