#1  
Old 16th May 2007, 22:10
rvarkevisser rvarkevisser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default NAT Co-domains and Clients

I have a question and maybe this is something other people are experiencing also.

We use our ISPConfig server behind a firewall and therefor use NAT as the address translation. The problem is when our clients create a co-domain. When they do this, the DNS configurator in ISPConfig is using the private IP address of the server automatically and not the public IP which is only used in the DNS Manager. Our clients don't have the DNS Manager when they log in, so they can not control the creation of the co-domain. We have to manually set the ip to the external address.
Is it possible to let the DNS creator check the ip address of the default hostname (A record that's created when the website is created) and use that ip for the co-domain? That way it's almost always configured in the right way (probably 99% of the case). Or maybe it's possible to create an extra setting in the DNS Server settings where you can set the external IP addresses where you can set 1 default IP address (just like in the server settings).

The same problem also exists when creating a website, but with the configuration of multiple ip addresses in "Server Settings" we circumvent that problem. We create the site first with the public IP. After 10 seconds we change the IP to a private IP and the DNS settings of the domain stay on the public IP. So this works ok. It's just not as charming as we wished, but it solved our problem.

We really wanted to help and solve this issue. But after searching for a needle in a haystack we gave up.

Last edited by rvarkevisser; 16th May 2007 at 22:29.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th May 2007, 12:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,421
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
 
Default

ISPConfig was originally build for webhosting in datacenters with "official" IP addresses and not NAT enviroments, thats why it has no translation table for internal and external IP addresses. To implement this feature, ISPConfig would need to have a translation table to lookup the external IP address for a internal IP.

You might want to post this to the faeture request forum as this is nothing that can be solved by reconfiguring your server or ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Users + Domains With Postfix, Courier + MySQL (+SMTP-AUTH, SpamA, ClamAV) brianwc HOWTO-Related Questions 6 9th May 2007 02:44
Postfix and sending with multiple domains anarion Server Operation 7 22nd March 2007 17:52
regarding sub domains for clients Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 5 19th January 2007 15:53
Same users on different domains Mistraal Installation/Configuration 3 31st August 2006 20:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.