#1  
Old 15th May 2007, 09:03
caspert_ghost caspert_ghost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Exclamation exiting/saving VI

Hellllllp

I have been reading:
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu704_p3

and got ubuntu 7.04 server set up on my machine. but when I get to 6 (Configure The Network)
I enter my login, type sudo to log in as root then type the command stated on that page.
vi /etc/network/interfaces

I get the new window:
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

now I need to change this to:
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1


once I make the changes HOW do I save it and exit from the vi command window???
Thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th May 2007, 09:33
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default exit VI

To exit VI:

press ESC to make sure you are in command mode.

Press :wq to write (save the file) and quit

or

Press: Type :q or :q! to quit without saving the file
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hans For This Useful Post:
caspert_ghost (22nd May 2007)
  #3  
Old 15th May 2007, 12:05
caspert_ghost caspert_ghost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thank you for your prompt help.
I was able to get it doen.

Next:
on the same page it refers to using PuTTy to log into my server.
Do I get the windows XP version and install it then connect using the ip I set up :192.168.0.100 ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2007, 12:21
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

You can download the Putty version for Windows here:
http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/.../x86/putty.exe

After downloading Putty, you are able to setup a connection from your local desktop to your server via SSH.
This is more secure then Telnet.

Within Putty, enter your the IP-address of your server.
You can enter it with a valid username and password, like admin or root.

If you are local desktop is in the same LAN as your server use IP address 92.168.0.100 in Putty.
If you want to establish a SSH connection from outside (Internet) use the external IP address of the network, which also contains your server.
If your server is behind a Router. make sure that port 22 is open and forwarded to your server within your LAN.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 16th May 2007 at 17:47.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hans For This Useful Post:
caspert_ghost (22nd May 2007)
  #5  
Old 15th May 2007, 13:27
caspert_ghost caspert_ghost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hello again. Thank you, I have downloaded the PuTTy file and double clicked it.
entered 192.168.0.100 and hit open;
after about 30 seconds I get a "fatal error"
Network Error:connection timed out.

I should point out that I have this installed on the same pc as I am using to talk to you as a microsoft virtual pc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th May 2007, 15:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Is 192.168.0.100 the IP address of your Ubuntu server?
What subnet are you using in your LAN? Is it 192.168.0, 192.168.1, ...?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th May 2007, 16:09
caspert_ghost caspert_ghost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

172.16.8.15

the dhcp allocates IPs based on mac address.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th May 2007, 16:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caspert_ghost
172.16.8.15

the dhcp allocates IPs based on mac address.
Then you must assign an unused IP address from your 172.16.8 subnet to the Ubuntu box. 192.168.0.100 doesn't work because it's from a completely different subnet.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
caspert_ghost (22nd May 2007)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.