Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th May 2007, 16:26
systimax systimax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how to start/bring up a nic at boot that has no IP

With Linux you can have nics that have no ips active. Can someone tell me how to get a nic to start at boot that has no IP?

If i do a ifconfig -a it shows all 3 physical adapters however the only one that activates at boot is the one that has a ip address assigned to it.

After it boot the server I can manually do a ifconfig ethx up and it does what i need it to do.

I just need to learn how to add that nic to be brought up automatically when the other nic with the ip address does. I'm running Ubuntu server but im sure this applies to many nix distros.

thanks

FYI



If you want to know why I am asking to activate a nic with no ip here is what you can do with a nic with no ip

"For example a Ubuntu installed with Vmware server or workstation.

You can bridge nics to virtual switches when the nic does not have a ip. Then only the virtual machines have ip addresses. That way if you have a server with 2 physical nics one nic can be bridged to a dmz with no ip adress and one can be bridged to the internal lan with an ip.

With no firewall any vm in the DMZ can not enter the internal lan. Simply because the bridged nic only has vmware protocol and no tcp address or bindings

This is recommended for security.

And it works when i manually do it. Ifconfig eth1 up bam my ipless nic starts to flow with vm traffic. and the vm hosts can web browsing ..what ever

Another example is using Snort you add nics with no ips for inline scanning Another is Ethereal, You can also bridge nics in Ipfw with no ips to create a sort of invisible firewall"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th May 2007, 16:57
smali smali is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re

In /etc/sysconfig/networking-scripts/ifcfg-ethX add ONBOOT=YES
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th May 2007, 17:17
systimax systimax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks but this wont work for Ubuntu Onboot is not supported

there is no networking-scripts folder or file

and the network config is in /etc/network/ in a file called interfaces

So i guess this is a debian ubuntu thing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th May 2007, 18:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

I think something like

Code:
auto ethx
iface ethx inet static
in /etc/network/interfaces should work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
linux boot process sysconfig Server Operation 0 4th November 2006 09:58
Ispconfig doesn't start at boot? natewlew Installation/Configuration 2 25th June 2006 20:55
xen not booting qiu HOWTO-Related Questions 11 2nd May 2006 10:20
segmentation fault hotchilli Installation/Configuration 5 30th March 2006 22:29
Need help with GRUB jmichaelak Installation/Configuration 0 6th March 2006 21:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.