Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th May 2007, 17:39
oliverb4ss oliverb4ss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Accidentally removed system tray from top panel. Emergency!

I accidentally removed the system tray part of the top panel, where all the icons for the active programs are (eg. messenger, music player, uTorrent and so forth).

It seems like they're just outside of the screen on the left side as the messenger notifications appear from that side, but I even don't have a panel there.

I know it sounds like a stupid question, but I'm newbie at Linux and I really need the tray in order to access some of the stuff.
Please help!

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th May 2007, 19:07
nicolasdiogo nicolasdiogo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wink maybe this one - if your system is new

assuming that you do not mind losing the preference for other packages (options and setting);

you can delete the setting for all packages like this:

logout of gnome or kde
then click all at the same time

ctrl + alt + 1

this will take you to a blak screen (it is good)

enter your username and password

once you login then:

cd ~

this will take you to you home directory

then create a back directory for all your settings

mkdir settingsBackUp

and move all setting into it:

mv .* settingsBackUp


now log back into your desktop with:

ctrl + alt + 7 OR ctrl + alt + 9 (can not remember for sure)

and the default settings should be used as when you login for the first time.

regards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th May 2007, 19:14
oliverb4ss oliverb4ss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks

Thanks for taking your time to explain it to me, but I was panicing and didn't look at things carefully.

It appears I just had to select "Add to panel" and scroll down to the utilities section from where I selected notification area.

But so far this has been the most helpful forum I've been to regarding Linux .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th May 2007, 21:27
nicolasdiogo nicolasdiogo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Smile try ubuntu forum

if you have queries related to ubuntu, try the official forum,
it is very good and fast
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.