Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th May 2007, 16:15
CeeJayCee CeeJayCee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Reselling Subdomains + Wildcard DNS

I've been running servers with cPanel for the last 4 or so years and this is the first time I've thought about using ISPConfig. Sorry if these questions are simple!

I want to create a reseller account (abc.com) that will be able to create accounts for it's customers using subdomains of it's domain (blah.abc.com, hello.abc.com). Is this possible with ISPConfig? and if so, how would you go about doing it?

Also, will ISPConfig manage the dns records in such a way that you can access a site with or without the www. prefix? and is it able to handle dns wildcards (for example, if site xyz.abc.com does not exist, it will forward it to abc.com)?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th May 2007, 01:27
CeeJayCee CeeJayCee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

From searching these forums I've found out how to do wildcard DNS and adding the www. prefix (i might script something to add it to all domains in BIND - it would be a good option if we can enable / disable this when creating a domain / for all domains.).

Back to the first question - is a reseller account making subdomains of it's main domain for customers possible?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th May 2007, 09:38
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,414
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,204 Times in 4,080 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeJayCee
Back to the first question - is a reseller account making subdomains of it's main domain for customers possible?
Yes. But ISPConfig checks the ownership of domains, so all subdomains will have belonng to one customer, even if the y are multiple websites. If you need them on multiple customers, you might have to disable this check in the ISPConfig sources.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th May 2007, 11:22
CeeJayCee CeeJayCee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm ok, that's not so good. Can you tell me where the check for this is? I'm hoping it just one or two functions rather than a load of code.

Is it possible to make this an option in the future? So that resellers can give clients an account using a subdomain of their own domain?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th May 2007, 11:53
CeeJayCee CeeJayCee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay, I don't normally like replying to my own posts but I think it does actually work.

In the demo account, I made a reseller called ChrisTest and I logged into it and make two clients "ChrisTestClient" and "ChrisTestClient2". I then made two new sites, "www.christest.com" which is owned by "ChrisTestClient" and "hello.christest.com" which is owned by "ChrisTestClient2".

This is what I want to achieve (and it appears to work, in theory) - can someone tell me if this will actually work in practice?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th May 2007, 11:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,414
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,204 Times in 4,080 Posts
Default

The demo account does not have the restriction that I mentioned above.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th May 2007, 12:19
CeeJayCee CeeJayCee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ah ok. Can you detail the steps I'll have to take to remove the restriction?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Transfer vServer (1&1) to rServer (netdirekt,ISPconfig) - Part 1 - DNS berli Installation/Configuration 1 12th March 2007 13:38
Using a different DNS server with Dynamic DNS CombatGod Installation/Configuration 1 11th May 2006 17:43
Pri & Slave DNS HOWTO (FC4) ppettigrew Suggest HOWTO 0 1st April 2006 15:35
Confused by DNS manski Server Operation 3 17th March 2006 12:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.