Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th May 2007, 07:25
Jaded1 Jaded1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS blues with Network Solutions

First of all I would like to give props to Falko, Till and all others for all their hard work helping others get the perfect setup, providing excellent tutorials and follow-ups on the forum.

I followed these tutorials to the "T" and am on the verge of having an awesome server.

I do have one final problem that I hope you may help me with. It is concerning DNS. I have researched the forums and googled till I am blue in the face but can't seem to understand what I am doing wrong.

Background: I have the following on and ASSL line assigned by my ISP

WAN IP 203.152.62.26 subnet 255.255.255.252

Lan IP range 203.121.171.192 - 203.121.171.199

Gateway 203.121.171.193

203.121.171.194 Static IP address
203.121.171.195 Static IP address
203.121.171.196 Static IP address
203.121.171.197 Static IP address
203.121.171.198 Static IP address
203.121.171.199 Cannot use (told that it was used for broadcast)

I also have eight domains registered with Network Solutions, previously I used only four of them on four of the addresses above with ISPCONFIG and this worked because it was IP-based.
EX:
203.121.171.194 fabledglory.com
203.121.171.195 merdance.com
203.121.171.196 jadedreality.net
203.121.171.197 transtropics.com


My ultimate goal is to serve all eight domains on one or more of the addresses above. I am under the understading that ISPCONFIG allows you to serve multiple web sites on the same IP so I went to the DNS control panel of Network Solutions and tried to share merdance .com with jadedreality.net just to see if this will work.

Dartan.jadedreality.net was the name I replaced server.example.com in the perfect setup routine so I pointed both domain names to go to there and to go to the IP address of 203.121.171.196.

Then I went into ISPCONFIG and set up dartan.jadedreality.net (SOA) as the master dns server with 203.121.171.196 as the IP address. I setup merdance.com as a slave domain.

I then setup several sites: www.jadedreality.net, webmail.jadedreality.net, www.merdance.com and webmail.merdance.com. All of using IP 203.121.171.196. It made the appropriate files in var/www. If I sit at the console of this server everything seems to work fine when I check each site with a browser. But....if I go to another computer (203.121.171.194) I can only see the jadedreality sites. I allowed almost 36 hours for the changes in Network Solutions to be propigated but I just feel like something isn't right.

Can you tell me if I am going in the right direction??? Is my train of thought correct in this setup....will I be able to share all of these websites on the single Ip of 203.121.171.196 using ISPCONFIG??? Anything that I should have done different???

Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th May 2007, 05:42
Jaded1 Jaded1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I followed the How to with Godaddy and Ispconfig, some of the steps were quite different but I think things are set. I also get the answer when I dig ns1.jadedreality.net so I assume that everything has been propagated.

When I go to dnsreport.com I get the following errors for jadedreality.net:

ERROR: You have one or more lame nameservers. These are nameservers that do NOT answer authoritatively for your domain. This is bad; for example, these nameservers may never get updated. The following nameservers are lame:
203.121.171.196
203.121.171.195

ERROR: One or more of the nameservers listed at the parent servers are not listed as NS records at your nameservers. The problem NS records are:
ns1.jadedreality.net.
ns2.jadedreality.net.

No valid SOA record came back:
is not jadedreality.net.

Can anyone tell me how to fix these??

I also cannot access any of my sites through a browser and I cannot access ispconfig admin unless I use the IP address.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2007, 12:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

If you want to host the DNS records for jadedreality.net on ns1 and ns2.jadedreality.net, you need a glue record: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dns#Cir...d_glue_records
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th May 2007, 14:14
Jaded1 Jaded1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The Go daddy tutorial was a mistake for me.....I really don't need to host my own dns servers.......besides dns is confusing enough without trying to figure out glue records.

I am going to go to the way you mentioned here
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...92&postcount=4

I went to the registrar's dns control panel set up a "technical domain" one that I will not serve pages or email on, used their dns servers and pointed it to my static IP address. I made four entries as A records....
@none jadedreality.net, ns1.jadedreality.net, ns2.jadedreality.net and dartan.jadedreality.net

I guess once these are propagated, I can use any of them in my server and dns-manager settings in ispconfig. ( Similar to you using ns1-ns6.hostmu.com)

I also assume that once this is done I can setup as many domains as I want by using the above A records as ispconfig nameserver entries. ( Then move them in my registra's dns control panel)

And I assume that as I enter these new domains into ispconfig that all of them can share the same IP.

Can you tell me if I am right about this?????

Last edited by Jaded1; 6th May 2007 at 14:17.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th May 2007, 12:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded1
I guess once these are propagated, I can use any of them in my server and dns-manager settings in ispconfig. ( Similar to you using ns1-ns6.hostmu.com)

I also assume that once this is done I can setup as many domains as I want by using the above A records as ispconfig nameserver entries. ( Then move them in my registra's dns control panel)
That's right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded1
And I assume that as I enter these new domains into ispconfig that all of them can share the same IP.
Correct, too.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th May 2007, 14:22
Jaded1 Jaded1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Yessssssssss................... that is the way to do it. Just didn't understand the technical domain. Its seems that ns1.jadedreality.net would be able to resolve www.jadedreality.net. But I guess that may be an issue of what is requested first. I do have my original webmail.jadedreality.net site still loaded and its working. I wonder why it can resolve webmail but not www. You know the old saying if it isn't broke don't fix it.
I'll leave it as long as its working.

Anyway all sites are working and now I have the perfect server. The sky is the limit.


You guys are the bomb. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
ispconfig and external primary DNS FredZ Installation/Configuration 4 9th October 2006 14:50
Using a different DNS server with Dynamic DNS CombatGod Installation/Configuration 1 11th May 2006 17:43
Pri & Slave DNS HOWTO (FC4) ppettigrew Suggest HOWTO 0 1st April 2006 15:35
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.