#1  
Old 7th May 2007, 14:29
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default Dns

Hi!

This time I've got two things that bother me.

1)
Recently I've registered a domain name by one of the Polish registrars and was trying to setup my own DNS server to easily manage the needed records for my sites.The server is Bind with ISPConfig-I'm using the ISPConfig Virtual Appliance again.After reading this tutorial I've configured Bind thru the ISPConfig web interface without adding an SPF record.Everything went fine but when I try to add this ISPConfig server to my registrar's DNS I get an error telling me that the specified DNS server isn't configured for my domain.
Port 53 (TCP/UDP) is open on the firewall.I guess that otherwise it wouldn't see the DNS server at all.
The same domain would go for the DNS server and my websites/mail/ftp.

2)
Next I've installed MyDNS with MyDNSConfig on Debian Sarge and it's working without any errors.This howto helped me.Now what do I have to do to configure my domain on that server thru the web-interface ?
After loging in as the admin user I want to add a new zone and I see SOA and some text fields.What would I have to enter here to configure everything right ?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th May 2007, 16:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leszek
1)
Recently I've registered a domain name by one of the Polish registrars and was trying to setup my own DNS server to easily manage the needed records for my sites.The server is Bind with ISPConfig-I'm using the ISPConfig Virtual Appliance again.After reading this tutorial I've configured Bind thru the ISPConfig web interface without adding an SPF record.Everything went fine but when I try to add this ISPConfig server to my registrar's DNS I get an error telling me that the specified DNS server isn't configured for my domain.
Port 53 (TCP/UDP) is open on the firewall.I guess that otherwise it wouldn't see the DNS server at all.
The same domain would go for the DNS server and my websites/mail/ftp.
Do your domains/hostnames resolve correctly when you run a
Code:
dig @localhost domainname/hostname
?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leszek
2)
Next I've installed MyDNS with MyDNSConfig on Debian Sarge and it's working without any errors.This howto helped me.Now what do I have to do to configure my domain on that server thru the web-interface ?
After loging in as the admin user I want to add a new zone and I see SOA and some text fields.What would I have to enter here to configure everything right ?

Thanks.
Take a look here:

These links might help as well: http://mydns.bboy.net/doc/html/mydns_9.html#SEC9
http://mydns.bboy.net/doc/html/mydns_10.html#SEC10
Attached Images
 
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th May 2007, 20:05
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

1)
I guess so.
dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl returned this:

Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 13623
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;linux.wloclawek.pl. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN A 84.205.214.107

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns1.linux.wloclawek.org.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns2.netart.pl.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.netart.pl. 772 IN A 85.128.129.10

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(localhost)
;; WHEN: Mon May 7 07:52:27 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 131
and dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl any :

Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl any
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26501
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 5, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;linux.wloclawek.pl. IN ANY

;; ANSWER SECTION:
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN SOA ns1.linux.wloclawek.org.pl. leszek.t.simplusnet.pl. 2007050509 28800 7200 604800 86400
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns1.linux.wloclawek.org.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns2.netart.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN MX 10 poczta.linux.wloclawek.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN A 84.205.214.107

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.netart.pl. 538 IN A 85.128.129.10
poczta.linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN A 84.205.214.107

;; Query time: 3 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(localhost)
;; WHEN: Mon May 7 07:56:21 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 226
2) Thanks.I'll take a look.

Last edited by Leszek; 8th May 2007 at 20:17.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th May 2007, 18:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leszek
1)
I guess so.
dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl returned this:



and dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl any :
Looks ok. I think you should ask your registrar why they don't accept your nameserver.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th May 2007, 21:30
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

I already did.They just told me that my dns server isn't configured like it should be without advising what the possible solution could be.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th May 2007, 18:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Hm... Not very helpful. I'd ask them again. They should at least tell you what the problem is so that we can figure out a solution.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
ispconfig and external primary DNS FredZ Installation/Configuration 4 9th October 2006 14:50
Using a different DNS server with Dynamic DNS CombatGod Installation/Configuration 1 11th May 2006 17:43
Pri & Slave DNS HOWTO (FC4) ppettigrew Suggest HOWTO 0 1st April 2006 15:35
Reverse DNS disasm General 3 13th January 2006 19:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.