Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd May 2007, 10:32
cheros
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Perfect Setup Ubuntu 7.04: MySQL host password problem

Hi,

Due to circumstances I had to build the host from a Ubuntu desktop CD which shouldn't be a problem. However, at page 4 I'm stuck, when I execute:

root@myhost:/ mysqladmin -h mybox.abc.com -u root password blabla123

(obviously not the real host or password ) I get

mysqladmin: connect to server at 'mybox.abc.com' failed
error: 'Host 'mybox.abc.com' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server'

I checked, the "bind-address 127.0.0.1" statement was already uncommented in /etc/mysql/my.cnf and there's no other file that holds a related config. I also tried surrounding the password with double quotes, but that doesn't seem to be the problem..

I'm going to soldier on with the installation, but I think when I hit the ISPpanel phase I'll run into problems..

Suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd May 2007, 13:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheros
mysqladmin: connect to server at 'mybox.abc.com' failed
error: 'Host 'mybox.abc.com' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server'
This means that the mysql.user table holds a different hostname than mybox.abc.com. Either change the hostname in the mysql.user table (for example using phpMyAdmin) and restart MySQL, or use the hostname from the mysql.user table in the mysqladmin command instead of mybox.abc.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
cheros (3rd May 2007)
  #3  
Old 3rd May 2007, 14:28
cheros
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You were right - it lacked the domain part of the hostname (so host test.domain.com was files as 'test' only).. At least phpMyAdmin worked without a glitch :-).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th November 2007, 10:23
Montana Dave Montana Dave is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
This means that the mysql.user table holds a different hostname than mybox.abc.com. Either change the hostname in the mysql.user table (for example using phpMyAdmin) and restart MySQL, or use the hostname from the mysql.user table in the mysqladmin command instead of mybox.abc.com.
Howdy !
I am experiencing the same issue -
'Host 'blah' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server'
- I did what you suggested and the server name in Mysql was the same as the one I am using to login (that is not working). Any Ideas ?
BTW, I have been using your "perfect setup" for Feisty and all of it has been working great ! (With this one exception) Thanks much for your excellent instructions ...
Thanks much ...
__________________
Montana Dave :>)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th November 2007, 14:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Take a look at chapter 8 on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...pensuse10.3_p4 (beginning with
Quote:
As you've seen in the netstat output, MySQL is not only listening on localhost, but on all interfaces, which means it can be accessed from the outside. Therefore we need to set a password for the user root@server1.example.com as well. But there's one little problem: most likely the Host column in the mysql.user table doesn't contain server1.example.com, but server1. We will change that now, and afterwards we will set a MySQL password for the user root@server1.example.com.
)

It shows how you can correct the hostname stored in the mysql.user table.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th January 2008, 20:08
New2this New2this is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Similar Problem Someone please help clarify

As my name states I am very green to linux and such. What I am trying to do is set up a server on a computer I have here. I have a static IP and linksys router connecting this computer to the internet. I have been working through the perfect server instructions for fedora. I am getting the same connect to server failed error.

I followed the steps closely all the way through but I think my main confusion is what to use as the IP address, the hostname and the gateway to use throughout the setup

I imagine the gateway is the address of the router and the IP is address is my internet connections IP address,but I am not sure what to use as the host. do I have to register a domain name before I can do this setup or what should I put?
Can someone please help clarify this for me or offer some advice as to how to proceed?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th January 2008, 16:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by New2this
I imagine the gateway is the address of the router
Yes, it's your router's internal IP address, not the public one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by New2this
and the IP is address is my internet connections IP address
No, it's not your router's public IP address. You must use a free IP address of your local network (from the same subnet where your router's local IP is from).

Quote:
Originally Posted by New2this
but I am not sure what to use as the host. do I have to register a domain name before I can do this setup or what should I put?
You can buy a domain or use a domain from dyndns.org, or you can even make up a hostname (but make sure you add it to /etc/hosts so that the system can resolve it locally).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect setup ubuntu 6.06 cnavarro Installation/Configuration 8 17th March 2007 18:09
ISPconfig Virtual Hosts + Perfect setup Problem ? orasis Installation/Configuration 5 16th March 2007 10:46
Perfect setup edgy Eft 6.10 mysql root password error sobeitchuck HOWTO-Related Questions 7 8th March 2007 19:21
perfect setup suse 10 - phpmyadmin & mysql question reddog Server Operation 7 17th June 2006 12:59
MYSQL and the perfect setup 9.2 Suse pkfrizzlefry HOWTO-Related Questions 7 21st May 2005 20:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.