Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 1st May 2007, 15:50
thepossiblehuman thepossiblehuman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Aha! That makes sense. Thanks a lot.

Scheduling won't have me near the computer until tomorrow evening, but that seems like it'd work. I'd do that in xorg right?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 1st May 2007, 17:57
SpiffBB SpiffBB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepossiblehuman
Aha! That makes sense. Thanks a lot.

Scheduling won't have me near the computer until tomorrow evening, but that seems like it'd work. I'd do that in xorg right?
Yes. Change default depth from 24 to 16 and remove the line with depth 24 in xorg.conf.

I think I will stick to compiz but unfortunatly 0.36 doesnt have "animations" in the feisty version, I hope that the repos will soon upgrade to 0.40 since its now the stable version.

Regards
Oscar
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SpiffBB For This Useful Post:
rakusson (16th May 2007)
  #13  
Old 3rd May 2007, 00:15
thepossiblehuman thepossiblehuman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As expected, it works perfectly. Thanks again.

Falko, great SOP.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th May 2007, 17:46
rakusson rakusson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to rakusson
Default

I am too having the same problem. I hope i can fix with your advise. if not, i will knock again in this forum
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th May 2007, 18:50
rakusson rakusson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to rakusson
Smile

thanks buddy. now it works. I hope one day ubuntu will take place of Windows.

Ubuntu should focus more on third-world countries. Using ubuntu will eliminate the issue of software-piracy.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 26th September 2007, 19:10
ravihp ravihp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default please help me

here are some problems when i started to make 3d effect.By looking at these error could anyone tell me is this possible for my pc or not?

when typed "lspci"
it shows

00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 200 Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 5a37
00:1a.0 PCI bridge: ALi Corporation M5249 HTT to PCI Bridge
00:1c.0 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 1.1 Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.1 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 1.1 Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.2 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 1.1 Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.3 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 2.0 Controller (rev 01)
00:1d.0 Audio device: ALi Corporation High Definition Audio/AC'97 Host Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 ISA bridge: ALi Corporation Unknown device 1575
00:1e.1 Bridge: ALi Corporation M7101 Power Management Controller [PMU]
00:1f.0 IDE interface: ALi Corporation M5229 IDE (rev c8)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: ALi Corporation ULi M5288 SATA (rev 10)
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RC410 [Radeon Xpress 200]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)

still i continued...
and one more error i had got is

direct rendering: No

please let me know how to proceed

i appreciate your help
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th September 2007, 18:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravihp
here are some problems when i started to make 3d effect.By looking at these error could anyone tell me is this possible for my pc or not?

when typed "lspci"
it shows

00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Xpress 200 Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc Unknown device 5a37
00:1a.0 PCI bridge: ALi Corporation M5249 HTT to PCI Bridge
00:1c.0 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 1.1 Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.1 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 1.1 Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.2 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 1.1 Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.3 USB Controller: ALi Corporation USB 2.0 Controller (rev 01)
00:1d.0 Audio device: ALi Corporation High Definition Audio/AC'97 Host Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 ISA bridge: ALi Corporation Unknown device 1575
00:1e.1 Bridge: ALi Corporation M7101 Power Management Controller [PMU]
00:1f.0 IDE interface: ALi Corporation M5229 IDE (rev c8)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: ALi Corporation ULi M5288 SATA (rev 10)
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RC410 [Radeon Xpress 200]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)

still i continued...
and one more error i had got is

direct rendering: No

please let me know how to proceed

i appreciate your help
These are no error messages...

Do you get any errors when you try to start Beryl? Any errors in your log files?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 30th September 2007, 05:39
ravihp ravihp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i proceeded as the instructions but in the first stage itself i got a error that should not come
direct rendering: No

it should have come "Yes"
so didn't proceed .does anyone know how to get a 3d desktop in ubuntu
please either give link or step by step commands .I wiil be so thankful to you

ravi
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 1st October 2007, 16:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

I've found these tutorials for your graphics card:

http://damr.net/blog/2007/05/07/howt...ess-200m-32mb/ (Spanish)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=321766
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Beryl On An Ubuntu Feisty Fawn Desktop With An ATI Radeon Graphic Card skyshock21 HOWTO-Related Questions 15 17th May 2007 16:10
Installing Beryl smcOpenConnection failed ixbalanque112 Installation/Configuration 4 26th April 2007 05:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.