Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th April 2007, 18:31
DazzyB DazzyB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Joomla - Can't install components or templates

I have set up Joomla on a website I created using ISPConfig on my Server, whenever I try to install something I get this message:

Code:
Warning: move_uploaded_file() [function.move-uploaded-file]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/var/www/www.dnet.za.net/web/media/com_jce_110_beta2.zip) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/web6/) in /var/www/web6/web/administrator/components/com_installer/admin.installer.php on line 175
how do I fix this?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th April 2007, 19:45
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

How did You install Joomla! on this server ? I mean did You rename configuration.php-dist to configuration.php and change the settings by hand (that's only an idea) or did You let the installer fill it with data by itself ?
Anyway I think that Joomla! wants to install a module or a theme in a directory that it shouldn't so it has to be a configuration problem with Joomla!.

Last edited by Leszek; 28th April 2007 at 23:14.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th April 2007, 00:01
DazzyB DazzyB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nevermind, I was stupid. I enabled PHP Safemode by mistake. thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th April 2007, 00:04
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Joomla! can properly run on a server with php safe mode ON and You should be able to install what You want.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th April 2007, 13:06
DazzyB DazzyB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm sure it can, Joomla! RULES!! but I guess ISPConfig add all kinds of wierd resrtictions to safemode.

Because the error says "open_basedir restriction in effect" now I'm very new to Linux and the PHP/HTML enviroment, but I think Joomla was trying to place the files to be insatlled in their correct directories, and it started at the "/var" directory searching up the directory tree, and because "/var" is not allowed to be read by any website with safemode, it threw me an error.

thats my logic I suppose, all PHP professionals PLEASE COMMENT, I gotta learn someday, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th April 2007, 13:24
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

If it was like You say it would cause a lot incompatibility problems with lots of php applications and scripts.The setting "open_basedir" can be set in php.ini and it is related to php safe mode.
This can also be a file permissions problem.

Last edited by Leszek; 29th April 2007 at 13:29.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th April 2007, 13:32
DazzyB DazzyB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Naa, I set all my files to chmod 0777 and no luck, and yes it did cause problems with another php script "phpSysInfo-2.5.3" which only started working after I turned off Safemode
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th April 2007, 13:40
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Quote:
Naa, I set all my files to chmod 0777 and no luck...
When a script is executed in safe mode,PHP checks if the executed script belongs to the user that want's to execute it.If not,You can get errors.

Quote:
and yes it did cause problems with another php script "phpSysInfo-2.5.3" which only started working after I turned off Safemode
Yes.PhpSysInfo cannot run with php safe mode on because it uses functions that are restricted in this mode.The author of this script wrote everything in the readme.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th April 2007, 13:51
DazzyB DazzyB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leszek
When a script is executed in safe mode,PHP checks if the executed script belongs to the user that want's to execute it.If not,You can get errors.
I also chowned the files:- www-data:www-data


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leszek
Yes.PhpSysInfo cannot run with php safe mode on because it uses functions that are restricted in this mode.The author of this script wrote everything in the readme.
Ye, I did see that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th April 2007, 13:59
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
 
Default

When I tested ISPConfig i noticed that file and directory ownership was different than www-data:www-data.They depend on the user of the account,ex. leszek:web2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem install perl modules Cirox Installation/Configuration 10 16th May 2007 17:04
VMWare Server Free License - Invalid bardgd HOWTO-Related Questions 6 19th November 2006 18:50
install Net::DNS chrno Installation/Configuration 4 5th September 2006 18:01
How to install Joomla on Fedora Core 4 kojo HOWTO-Related Questions 2 2nd April 2006 23:03
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 17:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.