Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th November 2005, 23:20
Geoinline Geoinline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig https://www.[...].com:81 need help

When I type http://www.mydomain.com I get an 'Index of /' page, which displays apache2-default and webalizer folders. Also when I start my server up it says ISPConfig system is now up and running!

However..

https://www.mydomain.com:81 doesn't work..

I'm using Zoneedit to point the mydomain to my static ip. Now in the 'How To' it has me setup bind9 which means I now have a DNS server up. It would seem logical that I should be using my own DNS server and not Zoneedits. However this isn't detailed in the 'How To' so I'm confused. Does anyone have any ideas on where I can learn more? If I had to guess I would think I need to setup a DNS record to point a CNAME to my bind9. But I have no Idea how to do this, or how long it would take to propegate.

Any help would be appreciated

Last edited by Geoinline; 12th November 2005 at 00:05.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th November 2005, 00:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You cannot use your ISPConfig DNS Server for the main domain of the server itself. Thats the Hen <==> Egg problem

Use the DNS Server of your domain registrar for your first domain and point it to your server. For all other domains you register you can use your own DNS Server.

The propagation of a DNS Record may take up to 48 hours.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th December 2005, 09:36
clayg clayg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes , but what nameservers do we give clients?
One would assume if my site is www.mysite.com
it would be ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com but I doubt these are set up in the Full ISP guide (I used Ubuntu).

To make it a short simple question, if the site is called mysite.com what do you tell customers to point their domain to? Surely not Zoneedit's DNS servers, or at least hopefully (dont want customers going to zoneedit.com and thinking/knowing we are running a Mini/JR webhosting co).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th December 2005, 12:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
 
Default

Assumption: you have a domain mysite.com and you use zoneedit to manage it.

1) Go to zoneedit and add two A records ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com both pointing to the IP of your server.

2) Now you can tell your customers that your nameservers are ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig Roadmap till General 34 12th March 2009 12:19
How can I get PHP to work after ISPConfig Install alvadore Installation/Configuration 22 30th March 2008 16:57
ISPConfig system stoped johnking Installation/Configuration 7 27th October 2005 03:37
alternative ispconfig Lord_Garfield Installation/Configuration 2 8th October 2005 13:22
Changing values on ISPConfig installation Luciano Installation/Configuration 4 17th August 2005 00:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.