#1  
Old 22nd April 2007, 23:27
rvarkevisser rvarkevisser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default BIND problem

I need a DNS Expert for this, I think.

I have registered my domain, lets say abc.nl, with a registrar. I changed the primairy DNS Server, through their control panel, to ns1.abc.nl. On ns1.abc.nl I run ISPConfig, so ns1.abc.nl is also my web and mail server. I've set the DNS settings to ns1.abc.nl so every domain, including abc.nl, that I created in ISPConfig has as primairy dns: ns1.abc.nl. As secondairy I can use the dns server of the registrar.
I have created my abc.nl domain and added the A record ns1 with IP 81.171.x.x.
I changed the TTL to 900, so I can make quick changes when I want.

When I do a DNS check I get this error for domain abc.nl
-------------------------------------
FAIL No NS A records at nameservers WARNING: Your nameservers do not
include any corresponding A records when asked for your NS records.
They probably are not returning the A records when asked, which can
prevent some other DNS servers from contacting your DNS servers. They
should do this if they are authoritative for those A records (in BIND,
you should not use 'minimal-responses yes;'). The problem record(s) are:

Nameserver 80.69.67.67 did not provide IPs for all NS records.
Nameserver 80.69.69.69 did not provide IPs for all NS records.
Nameserver 84.246.22.10 did not provide IPs for all NS records.
-------------------------------------
Above IP Addresses are the addresses of the registrars DNS servers. My ns1.abc.nl has the ip 81.171.x.x
What could be the problem?
When I dig abc.nl I get
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
abc.nl. 900 IN NS ns1.registrar.net.
abc.nl. 900 IN NS ns1.abc.nl.

So why do I get the error when doing a DNS check at http://www.dnsstuff.com or http://www.dnsreport.com?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd April 2007, 17:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

I guess you need a glue record: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dns#Cir...d_glue_records
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
Bind Server Problem weslkers Installation/Configuration 1 29th March 2007 09:09
Problem with BIND and ISPConfigs's DNS Manager Nejko Installation/Configuration 66 22nd April 2006 20:47
Bind-Chroot-Howto (Debian) spaz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 9th March 2006 14:50
bind problem flourishing General 2 10th December 2005 13:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.