Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 14th November 2005, 23:43
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Thank you. I really appreciate your quick and helpful replies.

If paid-for software was as well supported as ISPConfig, life would be so much easier!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 14th November 2005, 23:55
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hmm. I've hit a snag. When I paste in the csr, I get:

"UK is an Invalid Country - do you mean GB?"

The answer to that question is "Yes" but there is nowhere for me to put that. So I guess I need to generate the csr again, properly this time.

Suppose I need to do all that "openssl genrsa -des3 -passout pass:yourpassword -out /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key2 1024" and so on mentioned above.

I'm not sure what I am supposed to put in place of "yourpassword" for that.

Trial and error with certificates seems to be getting me just errors!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th November 2005, 00:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
I'm not sure what I am supposed to put in place of "yourpassword" for that.
You can make up a new password and replace yourpassword with it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th November 2005, 00:23
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

And it doesn't matter if that doesn't match any other passwords? Will I need it later (after the certificate is issued?) or can I forget it?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15th November 2005, 09:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
And it doesn't matter if that doesn't match any other passwords? Will I need it later (after the certificate is issued?) or can I forget it?
You should write it down! I think you need it if you want to change the certificate for some reason (i.e. change of company name or stuff like that) before it expires. I think your CA (e.g. instantssl.com) wants to see that password then, but I'm not quite sure.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19th November 2005, 21:54
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I now have a second IP assigned, and I have added it in /etc/network/interfaces by adding a section that says:

auto eth0:1
iface eth0:1 inet static
address 80.bb.cc.ddd
netmask 255.255.255.255
pointopoint 80.bb.cc.1
gateway 80.bb.cc.1

(Originally, I used auto eth0 and that seemed to give an error.) After a network restart, I seem to be able to ping the new IP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
change the file /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and the Server URL in the ispconfig configuration in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php
I did that, but after I'd restarted the Apache server using 'apachectl restart' it only gave a blank window when I tried to go to the control panel.

Can you give specific details about what needs to be changed in these files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
When you switch the controlpanel httpd to port 80, you must have an IP only for the controlpanel httpd and configure the admin server to only to listen to that IP. And your main apache server must be configured to listen on all IP's except the IP from the controlpanel httpd.
Is it necessary to have it listen to multiple IPs if the server only has one IP? I can't work out where to control which IP the apache2 server is listening on. There seem to be so many configuration files for it! Even if I found where, I know how to make it listen on all (*) or on specific IPs, but how do I exclude one IP?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 20th November 2005, 02:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
Is it necessary to have it listen to multiple IPs if the server only has one IP? I can't work out where to control which IP the apache2 server is listening on. There seem to be so many configuration files for it! Even if I found where, I know how to make it listen on all (*) or on specific IPs, but how do I exclude one IP?
You can use the Listen directive. For example, you can write
Code:
Listen 127.0.0.1:80
Listen <your public ip>:80
You see, it's allowed to have multiple Listen directives.

Quote:
Can you give specific details about what needs to be changed in these files?
In /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf you have to replace all occurences of port 81 with the new port number, the same goes for /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 20th November 2005, 12:48
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I'm not really clear about where the Listen directives need to go. There seem to be several possible places for it in Apache2. But that's to control where Apache2 listens to normal website connections.

The other two files refer to the Apache1 ISPConfig admin server, don't they? I need to be able to specify a different IP for that as well as changing the port. Do I need to actually specify a port number if I want it to use the standard https port?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20th November 2005, 14:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
I'm not really clear about where the Listen directives need to go. There seem to be several possible places for it in Apache2. But that's to control where Apache2 listens to normal website connections.
Run
Code:
httpd -V
and you'll see which file is the Apache2 configuration file. Many distributions split this file up, so you might see some "Include" lines in the main configuration file. You might have to search these included files also for the Listen directive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
The other two files refer to the Apache1 ISPConfig admin server, don't they? I need to be able to specify a different IP for that as well as changing the port.
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
Do I need to actually specify a port number if I want it to use the standard https port?
Yes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27th November 2005, 14:22
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 414
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

When I try to recreate certificate I receive this error in shell:

shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.