#1  
Old 15th July 2007, 07:49
ubriggsl ubriggsl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default changing keyboard layouts

on downloading the vmware files from this site it looks like the keyboard layout is different how do I change it to a us layout
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th July 2007, 14:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You can connect to the images with an SSH client such as PuTTY. Within the SSH client, you use your host system's keyboard layout.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th July 2007, 15:53
ubriggsl ubriggsl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default help again

Is there any way to do it directly on the host machine. Without the right keyboard layout i cannot config the network interface to ssh into it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th July 2007, 18:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Which VMware image did you download?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd July 2007, 07:39
ubriggsl ubriggsl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default debian etch

I downloaded debian etch with zabian server and agent running
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd July 2007, 08:01
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,754
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,603 Times in 4,414 Posts
Default

Please run the following command to reconfigure your keyboard layout:

dpkg-reconfigure console-data
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th August 2007, 04:21
hpool361 hpool361 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

setup in CentOS

Last edited by hpool361; 13th August 2007 at 04:25.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard error in KDE budianto Desktop Operation 3 30th September 2007 18:06
Problem with changing password h00s Installation/Configuration 2 9th June 2007 13:37
Changing "Return-Path" trcinc1 Server Operation 2 28th December 2006 02:01
Can't change keyboard in VMWare Ubuntu 6.10 Perfect setup - help! bwells HOWTO-Related Questions 4 20th November 2006 19:02
Changing server name Median Installation/Configuration 2 24th January 2006 14:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.