Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 27th November 2005, 01:51
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,270
Thanks: 84
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Default

still some more questions and errors:

question:

Quote:
MX 10 mail.

zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
www A 81.169.176.18
mail A 81.169.176.18
Does that look right? Or should it be like this:

Quote:
MX 10 mail.zice.ro

zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
www.zice.ro A 81.169.176.18
mail.zice.ro A 81.169.176.18
errors:

have a look at the recent changes of the report here: http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...domain=zice.ro

###edit###

I found out this is right:
Quote:
MX 10 mail

zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
www A 81.169.176.18
mail A 81.169.176.18
* A 81.169.176.18
but now I stumbled upon the SPF records, found a wizard here: http://www.openspf.org/wizard.html?m...lt_from_args=1

but the results differ from the results of ispcfg.

The wizards results:
Quote:
Paste this into your zone file:

zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
So this should also appear in DNS. You may or may not be in charge of the DNS for these entries; if you are, add them.

h5810.serverkompetenz.net. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all"
mail.zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all"
while ispcfg comes up only with this:

Quote:
mail.zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
Sorry for all these, maybe dumb, questions but once I stumble opun a thing I can't rest until its (perfectly) finished ;-)

Btw. does anyone here use a DNS provider he can recommend?

Last edited by Ovidiu; 27th November 2005 at 02:27.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 27th November 2005, 16:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

It can be

Code:
MX 10 mail.zice.ro.

zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
www.zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
mail.zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
(note the dot at the end of each FQDN!!!)

or
Code:
MX 10 mail

zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
www A 81.169.176.18
mail A 81.169.176.18
if you want to use relative host names. Please have a look here:
http://langfeldt.net/DNS-HOWTO/BIND-9/


Quote:
The wizards results:

Paste this into your zone file:

Quote:
zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
So this should also appear in DNS. You may or may not be in charge of the DNS for these entries; if you are, add them.

h5810.serverkompetenz.net. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all"
mail.zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all"
while ispcfg comes up only with this:

Quote:
Quote:
mail.zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
Why don't you create three SPF records in ISPConfig, like the ones the wizards proposes?

Quote:
Btw. does anyone here use a DNS provider he can recommend?
For my technical domain I'm using DirectI's ( http://www.directi.com/ ) DNS manager.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th November 2005, 18:57
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,270
Thanks: 84
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Default

thx for the tips,

I partly managed to fix it but it was tricky to do, if one does not really know what is to be filled in in the ispcfg... the field have different names than used in other tools / other how-to s

I figured out how to create this

Quote:
zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
this:
Quote:
mail.zice.ro. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
I already had, but I have no clue how to create the last one:
Quote:
h5810.serverkompetenz.net. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all"
AND there seems to be some error somewhere (doesn't have to be ispcfg)... all of a sudden, that online-dns test did not work anymore, I had a look in the control panel and all looked normal, but when having a look into the pri.zice.ro file I saw there was a "." after MX 10 mail => MX 10 mail. which did not work. I manually deleted it and hopefully it will stay away

Still I have no clue as to what stealth ns are, I am going to read your link to the how to know, thx
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 3rd March 2006, 13:31
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,270
Thanks: 84
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Default

sorry, probs again after reinstalling server mith my NS records. could anyone post a working pri.xxxxx file here? including mx records and SPF records? you can take out IP addresses or hostnames,

thx

and on the other hand a dns report on zice.ro gives me this:

Quote:
ERROR: One or more of your nameservers reports that it is an open DNS server. This usually means that anyone in the world can query it. This can cause an excessive load on your DNS server. Also, it is strongly discouraged to have a DNS server be both authoritative for your domain and be recursive (even if it is not open), due to the potential for cache poisoning (with no recursion, there is no cache, and it is impossible to poison it). Also, the bad guys could use your DNS server as part of an attack, by forging their IP address. Problem record(s) are:

Server 81.169.176.18 reports that it will do recursive lookups.

Last edited by Ovidiu; 3rd March 2006 at 13:36.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 3rd March 2006, 17:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
sorry, probs again after reinstalling server mith my NS records. could anyone post a working pri.xxxxx file here? including mx records and SPF records? you can take out IP addresses or hostnames,

thx
Here you go:

Code:
$TTL        86400
@       IN      SOA     ns5.example.com. hostmaster.example.com. (
                        2004122103       ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
                        28800              ; refresh, seconds
                        7200              ; retry, seconds
                        604800              ; expire, seconds
                        86400 )            ; minimum, seconds
;
                NS      ns5.example.com.              ; Inet Address of name server 1
                NS      ns6.example.com.              ; Inet Address of name server 2
;

  MX      10 mail.test.de.

test.de.      A        1.2.3.4
www       A       1.2.3.4
mail       A       1.2.3.4

test.de. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"

;;;; MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ;;;;
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 5th March 2006, 19:48
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,270
Thanks: 84
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Default

ok thx. but how would it look like with 2 nameservers? I tried to put hxxxx.serverkompetenz.net and mail.zice.ro as nameservers, does not work, I do not really know how to input this into ispconfig panel...

heres my pri.zice.ro

Quote:
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA h5810.serverkompetenz.net. admin.zice.ro. (
2006030506 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
28800 ; refresh, seconds
7200 ; retry, seconds
604800 ; expire, seconds
86400 ) ; minimum, seconds
;
NS h5810.serverkompetenz.net. ; Inet Address of name server 1
NS h5810.serverkompetenz.net. ; Inet Address of name server 2
;

MX 10 h5810.serverkompetenz.net.

zice.ro. A 81.169.176.18
www A 81.169.176.18
mail A 81.169.176.18

mail.zice.ro. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"

;;;; MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ;;;;
besides that do you have any clue why the test above said I have an open dns server? I did all according to the debian perfect setup...


and have a look at your example:
Quote:
test.de. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ~all"
my record does not have the IN ? why would that be missing?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 5th March 2006, 20:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
ok thx. but how would it look like with 2 nameservers? I tried to put hxxxx.serverkompetenz.net and mail.zice.ro as nameservers, does not work, I do not really know how to input this into ispconfig panel...
You must enter your two name servers under Management -> Server -> Settings -> DNS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
besides that do you have any clue why the test above said I have an open dns server? I did all according to the debian perfect setup...
That's ok. It means that everyone can use your nameserver to resolve domain names, like you can use nameservers of different providers for your computers.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
and have a look at your example: my record does not have the IN ? why would that be missing?
Bind understands both formats (with and without IN).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 6th March 2006, 01:26
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,270
Thanks: 84
Thanked 25 Times in 21 Posts
Default

I am sorry I have confused you, what I meant was not 2 DNS servers but 2 MX servers. I tried entering values manually as well as using the cfp panel but I am not sure what is expected if I want to add mail.zice.ro as mailserver - what to enter into hostname and what into mailserver... its a bit confusing to me, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 6th March 2006, 08:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,799
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,613 Times in 4,424 Posts
 
Default

If you want to add MX records in ISPConfig DNS-Manager, leave the hostname field blank and anter the domain of your mailserver in the mailserver field.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.