Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th March 2007, 21:27
demortes demortes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 71
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default ISPConfig and Google Apps

Greetings,

In addition to my current problem in another thread, I have a new one.

When I'm trying to set up Google Apps for one domain, it gives me

This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone.

And when I try to set it up for my second domain, it still gives it to me.

Now, I'm leaving hostname blank, and priorities the same as google apps is asking... Any other information needed?

Demortes

P.S. When is hostname supposed to be used? When a subdomain needs it's own? Like blah@sub.serenity-tech.com? Hostname == sub?

Last edited by demortes; 27th March 2007 at 21:29.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th March 2007, 08:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

The ostname in MX records is normally always empty.

Quote:
When a subdomain needs it's own? Like blah@sub.serenity-tech.com? Hostname == sub?
yes.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
demortes (28th March 2007)
  #3  
Old 28th March 2007, 21:36
demortes demortes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 71
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks Till, any clue on the actual issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th March 2007, 09:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

I never used Google apps.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st April 2007, 20:17
demortes demortes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 71
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Simply put, I need MX records set to something, and a cname. The cname I can figure out, but for the life of me I can't detect WHY I'm getting:
[CODE]This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone.[CODE]

There are no other MX records, ANYWHERE now. Nothing similar, nothing. The MX records I need are at https://www.google.com/a/cpanel/serenity-tech.com/SetupMXInstructions, and if you don't want to look for yourself...

MX Server address Priority
ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 1
ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 5
ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 5
ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10
ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10
ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10
ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM. 10

Now, I know that the priorities wont match up exactly, as long as their in the right order, not my question...

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd April 2007, 15:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demortes
Simply put, I need MX records set to something, and a cname. The cname I can figure out, but for the life of me I can't detect WHY I'm getting:
[CODE]This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone.[CODE]
Did you look in the recycle bin if this record is already existing?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd April 2007, 23:14
phamels phamels is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 58
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hi,

I'm also having trouble setting up the proper MX records for the google apps.
It seems I can add them, but some of them are unaddable;
ISPConfig keeps complaining about 'This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone.'

Why is that ? :-)
Anyway, Recycle bin is empty and here's the list that is currently set up for the domain.
Thones with hostname filled out could not be created.

Code:
  MX   

-----------------------------------
 
  Mailserver     Hostname   
  aspmx5.googlemail.com        
  googlemail.com     aspmx4   
  googlemail.com     aspmx3   
  googlemail.com     aspmx2   
  google.com     alt2.aspmx.l   
  alt1.aspmx.l.google.com        
  aspmx.l.google.com
Should be:
Code:
MX Server address	Priority
ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.	1
ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.	5
ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.	5
ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	10
ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	10
ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	10
ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	10
As i got this correct, hostnames should be empty and domains should be filled out entirely... right ?

Thx allot !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd April 2007, 11:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

Yes, the hostname field should be empty in this case. Maybe the check for duplicate entrys is a bit too strict here.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:24
phamels phamels is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 58
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Me thinks so too :-)

Having a bigger issue now, I succeeded to setup MX records for one domain fiddling around with the priority:

Code:
  MX      10 aspmx.l.google.com.
  MX      20 alt1.aspmx.l.google.com.
  MX      30 alt2.aspmx.l.google.com.
  MX      50 aspmx2.googlemail.com.
  MX      60 aspmx3.googlemail.com.
  MX      70 aspmx4.googlemail.com.
  MX      80 aspmx5.googlemail.com.
So I figured, sweet :-)
Now let's try this for another domain...

Domein number 2, deleted the MX record that was present there ...
Going to recycled bin to delete the record, oh, it ain't there...
Oh well, let's just recreate that record with a priority of 90 (as a backup mx)
and add the google records with lower priorities... didn't work ...
It stated that my record allready existed... even tough i just deleted it and it didn't show up in the recycled bin.

So like you stated Till, could be the check that is being too strict...

Problem now is tough i have a domain that doesn't have any MX Records
Very irritating if this is a company domain name
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
It stated that my record allready existed... even tough i just deleted it and it didn't show up in the recycled bin.
I'am pretty sure that the MX record is in the recycle bin.
Please check ALL recycle bins in the dns-manager. Every reseller and the admin has its own independant recycle bin.

Quote:
Very irritating if this is a company domain name
I administer a server with over 900 domains in the ISPConfig DNS-Manager, they are all company domain names and never got one problem with them
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hosting Provider with ISPConfig reinier General 20 1st August 2011 15:22
Setting up Google Apps for my Domain meekish Installation/Configuration 11 15th April 2009 17:41
Anyone figured out to integrate FuzzyOCR into ISPConfig on Ubuntu? friday Installation/Configuration 16 10th May 2007 16:25
ISPCONFIG with Zimbra, or Scalix? geeksbydesign General 9 12th April 2007 20:38
ISP-Ubuntu breezy ispconfig dns email e-mail working finally yellowjelly HOWTO-Related Questions 0 19th November 2005 20:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.