#1  
Old 27th March 2007, 21:19
warrior warrior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default firewall in ISPConfig

I´m loking to the firewall nowe in the admin area for ispconfig
and the firewall is turn off and I wonder howe shuld I do to stop so you
cant ping my server whit that firewall I cant finde that option????.
Or can I use the firewall into the fedora??????
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th March 2007, 22:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

To allow pings, you must open port 7 TCP and UDP in the firewall.

If the firewall is stopped and you cant ping your server, the problem is not related to the ISPConfig firewall. It might be that e.g. your access provider blocks pings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th March 2007, 07:46
warrior warrior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have start the ispconfs firewall nowe and wright in port nb7 and close that port but I can ping my server howe shuld I do to stop that ?


or can I start my firewall to the server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th March 2007, 07:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

I misunderstood your first post, I thought you want to enable pinging. To stop pinging, no setting in the firewall is nescessary. Are you sure that your server answers to the pings and not e.g. a router in front of the server?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th March 2007, 07:54
warrior warrior is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes I´m sure about that can I start my firewall to the server ??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th March 2007, 08:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

You can use any firewall you like with ISPConfig. But ISPConfig uses iptables / ipchains like any other linux firewall too.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig behind a nat router and firewall laser General 10 14th February 2007 20:06
ISPConfig Firewall PortMan Installation/Configuration 6 10th August 2006 17:25
ISPConfig Security - Firewall cybereatl Installation/Configuration 5 2nd April 2006 17:02
ISPConfig configuration or ipcop firewall being the cuase of trouble? AZMel Installation/Configuration 6 15th March 2006 00:20
ISPConfig firewall issue dwyoung Installation/Configuration 5 12th December 2005 10:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.