Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 8th November 2005, 14:42
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Do you have multiple IP addresses on your server? What I can think of is that www.domain.tld's DNS record points to 141.150.64.158, whereas you set up www.domain.tld on another IP address in ISPConfig...

This is how I configure Debian:
Host: server1
Domain: tech4you.org
IP: 192.168.0.x (Port forwarding is set up in the router to forward 141.150.64.158 to 192.168.0.x)
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: router's ip
DNS: freedns servers

I've registered my domain name with godaddy.com and gave it 3 dns server addresses that were supplied to me by my freedns service.
I've created the following hosts using my freedns account: www.tech4you.org, tech4you.org, mail.tech4you.org with an mx record also and server1.tech4you.org. I only have one public ip, 141.150.64.158, which I used with all my hosts.

ISPConfig:
Please enter your MySQL server: localhost
Please enter your MySQL user: root
Please enter your MySQL password: password
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database: ispconfig_db
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: 141.150.64.158
Please enter the host name: server1
Please enter the domain: tech4you.org
Please select the protocol: https

After ISPConfig loaded without any errors, I logged into it and created a client for tech4you.org. I then created a site for tech4you.org.

Did I do something wrong?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 8th November 2005, 19:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: 141.150.64.158
You should have used the system's IP address (192.168...) instead of the router's public one...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8th November 2005, 19:24
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You should have used the system's IP address (192.168...) instead of the router's public one...
So then that means that my install was correct?

Well what I'll do now is re-install everything from the bottom up, in an attemp to really understand what I'm doing. Thanks again Falko.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8th November 2005, 22:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky
So then that means that my install was correct?
No. When the installer asks you
Quote:
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web:
then you must enter the IP address of the system where ISPConfig is being installed (in your case 192.168.xxxxx), not the public IP address of your router (141.150.64.158).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 8th November 2005, 23:17
Rocky Rocky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 553
Thanks: 14
Thanked 49 Times in 48 Posts
 
Default

Yep I understand and thank you very much for the hlep.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Web Issues - Access Forbidden! rytech Installation/Configuration 23 22nd June 2006 15:25
FTP access with Dreamweaver / FTPclient pjm2211 Installation/Configuration 17 1st November 2005 23:31
FTP access problem... ctroyp General 7 12th October 2005 17:07
FTP access? ctroyp Installation/Configuration 14 29th September 2005 17:26
Access Denied on Port: 81 nandhu Installation/Configuration 2 10th August 2005 14:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.