#1  
Old 23rd March 2007, 19:28
rapid1 rapid1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry Confusion

OK I downloaded the newest MANDRIVA free ISO's burnt them to CD's and put in CD1. I set the BIOS to boot to CD only then boot (I have already setup a Linux Drive and a swap drive with booitNG). When I boot it says BOOT TO CD: two times then tells me it can't, to insert a boot disk and press enter. The CD is a BOOT disk why can't I get to the setup? By the way (if this shed's any light on this) My System is a DFI Lanparty MB 2 gigs DDR 400 AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Soundblaster Live ATI pci express X1650XT 256MB 550 watt PS and a WD SATA 160GB main drive.

Last edited by rapid1; 23rd March 2007 at 19:55.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th March 2007, 00:35
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

You should try other methods for booting a Linux system just to figure out the problem,for example: try to boot from a floppy image (if you have a fdd). The image and info what to do with it should be on your Mandriva CD.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2007, 10:01
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 52 Times in 48 Posts
Default

How did you burn them to cd? Did you just add the .iso like a normal file or did you select "burn from an image" or something like that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th March 2007, 16:01
rapid1 rapid1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How I burnt it

I used ISO recorder as suggested on here in another forum. The data is there I can see it when I tell it to install it runs and runs opening and setting up programs but never asks me where to put them or to format partitions or what partitions to use and ends like it's done something but it hasn't I really can't figure it out at all I can browse the CD's in 7-zip everything is there and I even tested it it says the software is stable *shrug*
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th March 2007, 14:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

I'm thinking, too, that you used the wrong option to burn the iso image to CD...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th March 2007, 16:25
rapid1 rapid1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default well

How should I burn it then, and just for suggestions is Mandriva a decent edition. I really got it because I had used Mandrake before and found Mandriva instead. I just want a full featured edition with all the bells and whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th March 2007, 16:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapid1
How should I burn it then,
As sjau suggested. Unfortunately I don't know your burn program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapid1
and just for suggestions is Mandriva a decent edition. I really got it because I had used Mandrake before and found Mandriva instead. I just want a full featured edition with all the bells and whistle.
Mandriva is quite good, but I think Ubuntu is even better. Mandriva's my number two for desktops.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st March 2007, 17:29
rapid1 rapid1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Agrivation

Hey Falko I took your suggestion and tried Ubuntu with the exact same results. I don't get this when it tries to boot to the CD it always just locks up. Does it matter that I am installing to a serial ata HD? I formatted my patition and share already as well if that matters I'm just at a loss here!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st April 2007, 19:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapid1
Does it matter that I am installing to a serial ata HD?
Most modern distributions shouldn't have problems with SATA hard drives.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd April 2007, 15:04
rapid1 rapid1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default further confusion

Well I've tried Ubuntu and Mandriva two version's with the same results????????
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Confusion PortMan Installation/Configuration 1 29th September 2006 14:34
Postfix mail is bounced Qrup Server Operation 7 9th May 2006 00:18
Anybody used 1&1 DNS ? The General Installation/Configuration 5 16th April 2006 04:30
Newbie Confusion on creating users NewbieUser Installation/Configuration 3 15th March 2006 22:20
DNS confusion .... pjm2211 Installation/Configuration 0 5th December 2005 18:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.