#1  
Old 6th November 2005, 17:21
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Certificate

When you install ISPConfig you are asked to enter some information regarding the certificate, for which in the install notes it says that your answer for these questions are not important.

However when I connect to the ispconfig server a certificate warning comes up and the default information that was left in during install is quoted on this warning.

Is there a way to chage the information stored on the certificate to more relevent info, like the actual name of my company and not snakeoil ltd.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th November 2005, 18:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Yes, you can re-create the SSL certificate. Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...p?threadid=121
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th November 2005, 10:12
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok the thread you linked to would create a new one but.... it does not look like I can change the details that is in the certificate.... I dont want it to say "Snake Oil Ltd" all over it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th November 2005, 10:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,483
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Do the openssl commands not ask for the certificate details?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th November 2005, 10:25
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
 
Default

Ok my mistake I was only reading the thread falko had passed and not using it.... I was expecting to change a config file or something.... I will run the commands and see what happens.... Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
howto regenerate default certificate ? DarkBen Installation/Configuration 1 27th October 2005 12:46
REAL SSL Cert install problems theduke Installation/Configuration 5 4th October 2005 22:06
Default Certificate adamluz Installation/Configuration 1 27th September 2005 01:09
SSL Certificate install on FC4/Apache2 Roman Installation/Configuration 0 20th August 2005 16:53
Secure Certificate Error m u r Installation/Configuration 13 9th August 2005 18:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.