#1  
Old 20th March 2007, 07:44
amdserver amdserver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default newbie: shared ip

Okay, so I've installed ISPconfig under Fedora yay

I'm forwarding ports 80,81 to my server, so I can access ISPConfig & my website. Now when I type in my external IP I get:

Quote:
Shared IP



This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.

For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.
So my question is how to change it so it looks at a different user?

Right now I really only care about hosting one website, so I don't need more than one ip. correct?

How would one go about accessing a different user that didn't care about a domain? Whats the path?

ex: domain.com/users/~username/

I've tried so many combinations...


Thanks for your help, and GREAT job on ISPConfig very happy with it. Cant wait for 3.0!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th March 2007, 09:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,492
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,533 Times in 4,351 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you selcted the internal IP for the website in ISPConfig and not the external IP. Please make also sure that the domain domain.com of the website really points to your external IP in DNS.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th March 2007, 15:27
amdserver amdserver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you!

If I made another user, how would I access their site?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th March 2007, 15:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,492
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,533 Times in 4,351 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amdserver
Thank you!

If I made another user, how would I access their site?
domain.com/users/~anotherusername/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd March 2007, 19:54
gdog05 gdog05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Adding to this..

I have one site set up, external domain access, etc. Works great, btw. ISP Config is an awesome tool. I want to set up a CMS on the same machine for internal LAN use only. IP based access (we have several machines with web access locked out) I think is the only way to access internally because of this.

Is this possible? How would I go about it if it is? Thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd March 2007, 19:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdog05
Is this possible? How would I go about it if it is? Thanks guys
You can modify the client computers' hosts file: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...s+file+windows
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd March 2007, 22:30
gdog05 gdog05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For some machines, I thought that would be best solution, but we do have several Macs, and several PCs that will need to access the regular domain, and the web. Any other options besides setting up another server?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th March 2007, 15:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You could set up an internal DNS server that is used by machines in your LAN.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th March 2007, 18:13
atoulis atoulis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Another option is if your workstations use a proxy server for web access, then you should be able to add entires to the host file on the proxy server. This avoids having to update each workstation.
Alex
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not seeing shared IP page andyreynolds Installation/Configuration 2 22nd February 2007 00:24
VPS + Shared Hosting Failover? signature16 Server Operation 1 16th December 2006 13:26
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 14:29
subdomain with mod_rewrite point to shared ip palkat General 7 28th July 2006 14:52
How do you set up shared hosting? PorkFat Installation/Configuration 3 29th December 2005 13:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.