Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 25th August 2007, 08:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,083
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,397 Times in 4,241 Posts
Default

Backup the current ISPConfig database and restore a backup with long usernames and domains. ISPConfig creates a backup during update, the backup sql dump is in your /tmp directory.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 25th August 2007, 19:29
cryptic cryptic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 136
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thanks till. Won't that cause some issues or missing new features if I revert a 2.2.15 db to the one I was using with 2.2.14? Or is db solely for sites, usernames and other site data ?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th August 2007, 19:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,083
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,397 Times in 4,241 Posts
Default

The databases from 2.2.14 and 2.2.15 are compatible, so this should not cause any problems.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th December 2007, 21:00
vulfs vulfs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy PROFTPD error on long domainnames/user

Hello

Found this post. Help solve the username on long domain names.
But not on proftpd

Have a domain christians-sogns-kirkegaard.dk

if I make a user like christians-sogns-kirkegaard.dk-test (use [DOMAIN]- prefix) and mark as ftp then ftp ie winscp wont accept user/pasword.

In the logfile (messages) it says PAM(christians-sogns-kirkegaard.dk-test): Authentication failure.
same if i try WEB-FTP

Any surgestions?

Have used perfect centos 5
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th December 2007, 16:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you try an FTP client such as FileZilla?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
vulfs (22nd December 2007)
  #16  
Old 21st December 2007, 12:07
vulfs vulfs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Tried look below.
I know its danish lang but you know the errorcodes:

Status: Forbindelse etableret, venter pĺ velkomstbesked...
Respons: 220 ProFTPD 1.3.0a Server (ProFTPD Default Installation) [89.184.154.53]
Kommando: USER christians-sogns-kirkegaard.dk-test
Respons: 331 Password required for christians-sogns-kirkegaard.dk-test.
Kommando: PASS ****
Respons: 530 Login incorrect.
Fejl: Kunne ikke forbinde til server


the old pass was test.. then i tried to change it to a new six digits password..
now all clients works??
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22nd December 2007, 15:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vulfs
the old pass was test.. then i tried to change it to a new six digits password..
now all clients works??
That's strange... Do you always get the login errors when you use a four letter password?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22nd December 2007, 17:41
vulfs vulfs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

nope, just this one.

But have checked with the owner of the domain.

His original ftp user couldnt connect even after I could with the test user. Then I made him delete his user and make the the user again.
Then he could connect.
So maybe it had some thing to do wtih users made before I changed from 32 to 64 digits.
Can't think of anything else..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
.eu domain names cotthemh Installation/Configuration 4 17th February 2007 15:31
This is %#@*&^$# embarrassing! domino Smalltalk 34 5th February 2007 21:57
Customer With Multiple Domain Names ZebraCobra Installation/Configuration 4 11th September 2006 10:45
Nameserver configuration teleriddler Installation/Configuration 14 28th January 2006 16:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.