#1  
Old 14th March 2007, 19:09
chejose chejose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Villa Nueva, Argentina
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fedora 6 & VMware server

I did an installation of VMware server on Fedora 6, following the "Howto" instructions. All went well, with no errors, including the configuration. But..

1 - It takes 4.5 minutes for the console to open (during various trial runs).

2 - I wanted to set up a Win 2K installation. But it opens up to a black screen with no cursor. In other words, no way to process the created HD. I tried it twice, both with the same result, so there are two incomplete installations waiting. The row of buttons is also faded out.

I am fairly new to Linux, so please put any answer in "simple" terms.
Many thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th March 2007, 14:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Are there any errors in the logs in the /var/log directory? What's the output of
Code:
uname -a
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th March 2007, 15:24
chejose chejose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Villa Nueva, Argentina
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for getting back to me!

I looked through the log, and only found the following that is close to an error.The rest seems to have gone OK


Mar 15 07:36:11: app| UndopointGetSuspendState failed Failed to read from snapshot helper fd.
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| .
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| UndopointHasIndependentDisks failed Failed to read from snapshot helper fd.


[root@localhost jose]# uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6 #1 SMP Sat Mar 10 19:15:16 EST 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Jose
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th March 2007, 15:53
chejose chejose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Villa Nueva, Argentina
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Falko:

I just made another try at opening VMserver and the consel simply did not open. There was nothing in the log for the attempt.

But looking at the log, I realize now that it is the boot up sesion that I made this morning, and not the last time I tried to open the consel. The end of the log says:

Mar 15 07:36:11: app| VM suddenly changed state: poweredOff.
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| VM suddenly changed state: poweredOff.
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| impersonate Impersonate_Undo called when refCount == 0
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| Serverd hostname: localhost.localdomain
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| Setting up serverd discovery channel for vmxes
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| Successfully set up serverd discovery channel for vmxes
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| vmware-serverd entering main loop.
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| Signal 15 caught. Requesting shutdown.
Mar 15 07:36:11: app| Shutting down vmserverd (0).

Whether that means anything or not I have no idea. But it looks like I am at zero right now.
Jose
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th March 2007, 01:31
nomadic nomadic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks for tutorial

Excellent tutorial - thank you.
Two minor issues I came across

w32codec
- w32codec was not available from atrpms using tutorial instructions.
- checked atrpms site and w32codec was not listed as a fedora 6 package, tho
I did find it when I listed all packages by name
- I downloaded and installed it separately from atrpms site.

Nvu
I think the line
rpm -ivh xorg-x11-deprecated-libs-6.8.2-1.EL.13.37.5.i386.rpms
should end with .rpm rather than .rpms ?

Again, many thanks

nomadic
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th March 2007, 18:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chejose
[root@localhost jose]# uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6 #1 SMP Sat Mar 10 19:15:16 EST 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Jose
Is this the same kernel that was installed when you installed VMware? Or is it a newer one?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th March 2007, 18:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadic
I think the line
rpm -ivh xorg-x11-deprecated-libs-6.8.2-1.EL.13.37.5.i386.rpms
should end with .rpm rather than .rpms ?
That's right. I've corrected it in the tutorial.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th March 2007, 19:52
chejose chejose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Villa Nueva, Argentina
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Falko
Since there are downloads almost every day for system adjustments, it could be that the kernal has been changed since then.
Yesterday I could not even open VMserver, but noticed today that in the boot list it said that the config file should be run again. So I did it, and it is full of errors. After dioing it literally froze Fedora and I had to hit the "panic button" since it would not reboot. Don't know if it is possible to make sense of it, but here goes:

Using 2.6.x kernel build system.
make: Entering directory `/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.20-1.2925.fc6/build/include/.. SUBDIRS=$PWD SRCROOT=$PWD/. modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.20-1.2925.fc6-i686'
CC [M] /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.o
In file included from /tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.c:80:
/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/./include/compat_kernel.h:21: error: expected declaration specifiers or ‘...’ before ‘compat_exit’
/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/./include/compat_kernel.h:21: error: expected declaration specifiers or ‘...’ before ‘exit_code’
/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/./include/compat_kernel.h:21: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘_syscall1’
make[2]: *** [/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only/linux/driver.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.20-1.2925.fc6-i686'
make: *** [vmmon.ko] Error 2
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config0/vmmon-only'
Unable to build the vmmon module.

For more information on how to troubleshoot module-related problems, please
visit our Web site at "http://www.vmware.com/download/modules/modules.html" and
"http://www.vmware.com/support/reference/linux/prebuilt_modules_linux.html".

Execution aborted.

I suspect that I must re-install or something similar, but I am afraid that I am lost for the moment.
Thanks for either suggesting a solution or telling me to give up.
Jose
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th March 2007, 18:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Please check at vmware if there is a newer package. It loks that this package either contains a bug or is not compatible with the kernel installed on your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th March 2007, 19:29
chejose chejose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Villa Nueva, Argentina
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Till:
Thanks for the suggestion. I had just recently downloaded the VMserver package, but it could easily be broken. I guess I will uninstall VM server once more, and will attempt another fresh installation. If it doesn't work this time, I give up.
José
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 20:11
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.