#1  
Old 7th March 2007, 17:18
muzica muzica is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYS
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default MAC address

Hi,

I have a IP Address of a remote server on my network.
How can i find the MAC address.
__________________
muzica
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th March 2007, 18:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Log in to the server and run
Code:
ifconfig
That command will show you the MAC address (I think it calls it HWADDR or something like that).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th March 2007, 14:11
muzica muzica is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYS
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, but I don’t want to log on to 68 servers. Is there away to innovatory them from a command line?
__________________
muzica
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th March 2007, 11:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I'm not sure if the nmblookup can be of help. Run
Code:
man nmblookup
Maybe it can detect MAC addresses.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th March 2007, 17:30
KenKnight KenKnight is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hi Muzica,

I use nmap for that type of task.

the following command will scan your entire subnet and provide just the info you need;

nmap -sP 192.168.0.0/24

Replace the 192.x.x.x with whatever you subnet is, also if you're not using one of the standard subnet masks you'll need to calculate and apply a different subnet # at the end (24).

Since you have a bunch of machines I'd suggest routing the info to a file like so;

nmap -sP 192.168.0.0/24 > MyMacs.txt

Then you can copy that text file to whatever machine your doing work on. I use the heck out of this command when setting up Static DHCP servers.

Cheers!
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th March 2007, 12:56
muzica muzica is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NYS
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

nmap worked.


thank you.
__________________
muzica
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
server management > ip address? littlened General 3 25th August 2006 09:20
Can IPCop bandwidth throttle/shape by subnet, user or mac address? Merp HOWTO-Related Questions 3 15th July 2006 13:29
Garbled dns queries bosei Installation/Configuration 8 6th February 2006 22:29
Duplicate virtual hosts bosei General 13 22nd December 2005 17:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.