Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11th March 2007, 16:37
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

It finished and all is OK. But if you advise to check the disks, how could I do this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 11th March 2007, 17:23
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

I can only think of (non-destructive) vendor diagnostics. And of course watch the log files for read/write errors. Do you have hardware RAID? Maybe the raid controller can provide more info, but that's also (raid-controller) vendor specific. Most of these require you to take your server offline for some period of time, and it's not sure errors will be detected. You've probably done so already, but making backups may save your a... sometime in the future.

Problem is, these type of errors occur "randomly" and are most of the times not reproducable under controlled testing.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th March 2007, 17:31
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I use RAID and mdadm. I believe mdadm would mail me if there were any errors.
I don't think it's HDD error. I will move cron.daily to execute at 11:00 am and will watch closely what is happening.
I can't think of anything else.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th March 2007, 20:10
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

Oke, that's software RAID. Yes, mdadm will report problems, but normally not through email. Check /var/log/messages and/or /var/log/syslog and or /var/log/kern.log. I'm not familiar with FC6, so maybe they even use different logfiles.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th March 2007, 08:12
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

It happend again. Nothing in logs. Last from cron.log is webaliser and hourly parts. But when I run webalizer script from command line nothing bad happends.
How can I edit the webaliser cronjob? I don't see it in crontab.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12th March 2007, 08:14
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

As 'root', use
Code:
crontab -e
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12th March 2007, 08:30
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks.
I'll edit it to run at 11am and see what's happening. If it dies then this is it.
But I still can't believe, because when I run it manualy nothing goes wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12th March 2007, 11:50
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

All cronjobs finished after I moved them to new time of execution. All is OK.
No issues. STRANGE
I am currently running mprime torture test. Again all is OK.

I remembered this extremely strange thing: I had a problem with one of my other servers. It was running Debian and every morning at 4 the internet connection to it used to go down. I noticed that it started since I put a mobile phone next to it. I removed the phone and the issue was gone.
So now this same phone was near the other server. I removed it again and hopefully the problem will stop happening.
I will report. But don't put mobile phones near servers.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12th March 2007, 15:56
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I tested the CPU at full load of both cores for hours. This test also utilizes the memory. NO errors.
So the only thing that could be causing this is the cell phone.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12th March 2007, 20:45
djtremors djtremors is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 278
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
 
Default

phone or no phone, bit strange that it's happening at 4am unless you're calling your servers for a 'booty call' at 4am SO DON'T CALL THEM AT 4AM :P

very strange.
__________________
www.emperor-it.com for ISPConfig mods/hacks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.