#1  
Old 8th March 2007, 01:34
alexillsley alexillsley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 396
Thanks: 27
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Disks - Partitions

Hi,
I have got a partion on my hard disk /var but i would like to resize it, i tryed to chnage its size in yast but it wont let me it says the disk is already mounted. So i goto shell and unmount:

Code:
server1:~ # umount /var
umount: /var: device is busy
umount: /var: device is busy
server1:~ #
Though it doesnt let me becuase the "drive is busy" . Do you know any live cd's i could use to change the partition size?

Thanks,
Alex
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th March 2007, 02:34
fraginhell fraginhell is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Terrigal, Australia
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to fraginhell
Default

Have you tried booting to single user mode, I dont think It is mounted, in that case you can resize it from there, without using a live CD.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2007, 19:02
alexillsley alexillsley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 396
Thanks: 27
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

How would i do that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th March 2007, 15:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexillsley
Do you know any live cd's i could use to change the partition size?

Thanks,
Alex
Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/partitioning_with_gparted
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th March 2007, 15:57
alexillsley alexillsley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 396
Thanks: 27
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

hey thanks for you help but in the end i reinstalled system for the 4th time, i have backups so know one lost there data . Its all fixed and working now
Thanks,
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th October 2010, 07:46
Smalfish Smalfish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Smile resize partitions

Resize partitions you can choose the MiniTool Partition Wizard,wchich not can resize partition well,but also can support many OS,such as:
Windows 7 (32 & 64 bit)
Windows Vista (32 & 64 bit)
Windows XP (32 & 64 bit)
Windows 2000 Professional
Windows Server 2008 (32 & 64 bit)
Windows Server 2003 (32 & 64 bit)
Windows 2000 Server Family
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused about "best" partitions on Debian Sarge with ISPConfig oxxmoxx Installation/Configuration 2 13th September 2006 01:54
disks during install not recognized, debian TheRudy Installation/Configuration 5 10th June 2006 21:39
formatting partitions dr_tzsygatz Installation/Configuration 2 22nd March 2006 17:48
New install question conserning multiple disks... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 4 21st March 2006 18:51
Big problem with FC4+Ispconfig+partitions+2 disks vocoder HOWTO-Related Questions 1 9th March 2006 09:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.