#1  
Old 17th August 2007, 22:25
alva alva is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Co-Domain problem

I have add co-domain from ispcofig to my domain. I was able to add domain but there is no field for password. How or were from I can add password for subdomain?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th August 2007, 22:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,647
Thanks: 794
Thanked 5,003 Times in 3,912 Posts
Default

Why do you expect that there should be a password field for a subdomain? Thats really uncommon.

If you want to password protect a directory, use the webFTP client or create a .ftacces file manually.

If you want a subdomain to be in a separate directory, create a new web for the subdomain and not a co-domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
alva (18th August 2007)
  #3  
Old 18th August 2007, 08:52
alva alva is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I expected it because I understand Co-domain as subdomain.

OK I tried to create subdomain as new site but it's somewere written that my subdomain is already used and shows me error. I searched inside of config found one place and deleted it but still the same. what to do? or do i have to wait?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th August 2007, 09:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,647
Thanks: 794
Thanked 5,003 Times in 3,912 Posts
Default

1) NEVER edit the config files.

Just delete the co-domain in the interface and not the config file, then empty the recycle bin and creat it in the new location.

Quote:
I expected it because I understand Co-domain as subdomain.
Thats correct. But subdomains and password protection are teo totally different and unrelated topics.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th August 2007, 11:59
alva alva is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
1) NEVER edit the config files.

Just delete the co-domain in the interface and not the config file, then empty the recycle bin and creat it in the new location.

Thats correct. But subdomains and password protection are teo totally different and unrelated topics.

Almost clear,

When I created new site with hostname XXX and domain demo.com it still not working, ok ftp works but when i go to xxx.demo.com it shows aggain www.demo.com welcome page

I have also tried to create same in DNS manager but it also does not works
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th August 2007, 13:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,703 Times in 2,546 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alva
Almost clear,

When I created new site with hostname XXX and domain demo.com it still not working, ok ftp works but when i go to xxx.demo.com it shows aggain www.demo.com welcome page

I have also tried to create same in DNS manager but it also does not works
Did you get an error message when you created the new web site xxx.demo.com?
Please check Vhosts_ispconfig.conf if xxx.demo.com is a vhost of its own, or if it's still a ServerAlias of another web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
Problem with Samba PDC and Windows domain padmx82 Server Operation 0 28th March 2007 19:35
Small domain and mail problem mphayesuk General 1 1st March 2007 15:12
Problem with Domain and Statistic thgenzel General 1 18th January 2007 07:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.