Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st March 2007, 17:05
Hawker Hawker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Totally Confused DNS & Shared IP

I have 4 public IPs that are being used on my system and are properly configured in ifcfg-eth0 through ifcfg-eth0:3.

I have create ns1 and ns2 successfully and bind is running.

I have created a web site on the same IP as ns1.

When I access the unused IPs I get the fedora test page. When I access the ip address for the web site I get the shared ip page!?

Checking Vhosts_ispconfig.conf the named virtual host is set to the same IP as the web site. Hence the shared IP page.

Now, the question is.. Can I manually change the IP for named virtual hosts to correct this problem?

And, can I manually change the document root for the web site to it's proper /var/www/www.website.com directory (which was created by ispconfig?.

Or is there some easy fix I'm overlooking?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st March 2007, 18:44
torusturtle torusturtle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Thanks: 21
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to torusturtle Send a message via AIM to torusturtle
Default

Quote:
Now, the question is.. Can I manually change the IP for named virtual hosts to correct this problem?
You can change the IP of the ISPConfig Server in the admin tool under "Management/Settings"

To change the IPs for the individual domains go to their settings under ISP Manager.

I don't recommend to change the IPs manually because ISPConfig overwrites your changes.

Quote:
And, can I manually change the document root for the web site to it's proper /var/www/www.website.com directory (which was created by ispconfig?.
I guess you could copy/move the files to the directory you wish and change the document root under "Management/Settings/Web".

Though I never tested this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st March 2007, 19:00
Hawker Hawker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. This one is driving me nuts.

Just for the heck of it I added another dedicated site on a totally unused IP and now it too is being listed as a shared IP.

It seems all IP addresses are being created as shared IPs. I do find it odd that there is no choice in ISPConfig to dedicate an IP to a web site or make it shared.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st March 2007, 19:12
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

Quote:
It seems all IP addresses are being created as shared IPs. I do find it odd that there is no choice in ISPConfig to dedicate an IP to a web site or make it shared.
As you concluded yourself: all IP's are shared, until the admin decides (and guards) to use one IP only for one site. If you "forget you assigned a specific IP to one site, you can easily end up with a shared IP.

the shared IP page will go away if you define your site. However, accessing the domain/site by it's IP address will always return the shared IP page.

ISPConfig could be enhanced with this. I'd consider this a RFE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st March 2007, 20:03
Hawker Hawker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinfst
As you concluded yourself: all IP's are shared, until the admin decides (and guards) to use one IP only for one site. If you "forget you assigned a specific IP to one site, you can easily end up with a shared IP.

the shared IP page will go away if you define your site. However, accessing the domain/site by it's IP address will always return the shared IP page.

ISPConfig could be enhanced with this. I'd consider this a RFE
Well, I suppose I could change the nameserver IPs for one domain and see if they everything works correctly.

Using the IP address to access a site before it goes live is pretty common. I had hoped to do this since I'll be moving 3 active sites from a leased server to our own in house server.

All in all, except for this little glitch I'm very impressed with ISPConfig so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st March 2007, 20:12
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

If you are authoritative for a domain (I am at least for my own ISP company) and control your nameservers, you can easely create a temp dns entry and add that as a co-domain.

So in DNSmanager I add a record "customer.myispdomain.tld" and have that point to the dedicated IP.

In siteadmin, I create the site as it should be: "www.customerdomain.tld" and add a co-domain "customer.myispdomain.tld". Works great, but a little extra work. You only need to allow for one extra domain in your specification for a customer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st March 2007, 21:27
Hawker Hawker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I have one domain that isn't really critical to anything so I just changed the name servers for that.

The new name servers are showing up (DNS Report) and operating correctly and I just need to wait for the change to propagate to be sure everything is hunky dory.

The only problem I'm having now has to do with the server name appearing in the ehlo (host greeting). I knew how to get around that in Plesk, but that's going to be a different topic here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd March 2007, 08:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
The only problem I'm having now has to do with the server name appearing in the ehlo (host greeting). I knew how to get around that in Plesk, but that's going to be a different topic here.
Have a look at the file /etc/postfix/main.cf, the domain used for the ehlo is defined there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
DNS, a little confused.... coe_pal Server Operation 2 4th January 2007 04:47
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29
Newbie DNS totally confuse. Rock General 9 1st June 2006 00:01
Totally Confused DNS! skeeta Installation/Configuration 5 27th August 2005 19:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.