Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th February 2007, 23:03
ikkem ikkem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default noob question....

I installed the Lamp server on debian sarge my question is how do I launch a website I did some searching online with google/clusty but I could not find any info that I could use....
thanks in advance....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th February 2007, 11:23
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 40 Posts
Default

What do you mean exactely?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th February 2007, 12:52
ikkem ikkem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjau
What do you mean exactely?
hi....
I wanted to know how to make a webpage visible to the outside world and is it the same situation on a desktop computer
I am new to linux ....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th February 2007, 13:17
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Well, have apache installed, create an index.html in /var/www/ and then people can view it when they enter your IP address... you can view it by entering http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1

Next step would be that you use some dyndns service to get yourself a "domain name" or if you have a dedicated IP you can buy your own domain, setup a nameserver and run the domain through your computer.

It just depends on what you want to do...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th February 2007, 14:05
ikkem ikkem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjau
Well, have apache installed, create an index.html in /var/www/ and then people can view it when they enter your IP address... you can view it by entering http://localhost or http://127.0.0.1

Next step would be that you use some dyndns service to get yourself a "domain name" or if you have a dedicated IP you can buy your own domain, setup a nameserver and run the domain through your computer.

It just depends on what you want to do...
thanks for reacting some things have become more clear now could someone please post a how to or a link to a how to I have not had any success in getting the right information yet....

thanks in advance....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th February 2007, 16:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Is your server in a local network (behind a router)? Do you have dynamic IP addresses? If so, get a domain name at dyndns.org and make it point to your public IP address. Also tell your router to update that domain whenever your public IP address changes. That way, you can type your dyndns address into your browser to reach your web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th February 2007, 16:43
ikkem ikkem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Is your server in a local network (behind a router)? Do you have dynamic IP addresses? If so, get a domain name at dyndns.org and make it point to your public IP address. Also tell your router to update that domain whenever your public IP address changes. That way, you can type your dyndns address into your browser to reach your web site.

Thanks for the info....
I have a static IPadress at the moment I am trying this on a desktop when it works out I will setup a server I have a old packard bell computer that I can use....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th February 2007, 18:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

If you have a static IP address you can use whatever domain you like. All you have to do is make it point to your static IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd March 2007, 01:11
ikkem ikkem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 85
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I see how should I do that....
tried already but had no success yet
thanks in advance....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd March 2007, 13:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Register a domain and tell the registrar to which IP address it should point.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total Noob question here .... md_129 Installation/Configuration 4 21st December 2006 14:30
Odd question for Falko Randy Installation/Configuration 1 16th October 2006 14:58
sendmail config question westb Server Operation 1 1st September 2006 17:00
Noob Cronjob for shell account ibackup prob Dwalf Installation/Configuration 4 1st August 2006 14:17
Simple question... I think - re: multiple domains. lidocayne Installation/Configuration 1 17th July 2006 11:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.