Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd February 2007, 09:34
vogelor vogelor is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wernau, Germany
Posts: 219
Thanks: 42
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default the updater should do backups

first of all - i don't want to blame anybody - it was my own fault and i am the only responsible person for this problem - but i want to tell about, maybe the installer could help me by doing backup of the configuration files.

i changed the file /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/vhost.conf.master. i added the line
Code:
suPHP_ConfigPath {HTTPD_ROOT}/{WEB}/etc/php
because with this trick every virtual host has it's own php.ini and so i can set the tmp-dir and the open-basedir individually for each virtual host.

after doing the update to the newest version i realized that the update copies its "new" file over my "old" file and so my changes where gone. this means the openbasedir and the tmp-dir was meaningless and this opens a security hole. one again - my fault! i changed something and forgot to re change it after the update.

But maybe the installer can reate a "backup-dir" and copies the "old" files there, so that i can recopy the "old" files over then "new" ones.

the same was with the apache default-files. i changed them all to my company and after doing the update all changes where gone.

- just want to say ;-)
__________________
Der neue Luxus heißt Zeit, nicht Geld!

Firma : http://www.muv.com, http://www.computerandservice.de
Privat : http://www.vogelor.de
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd February 2007, 10:37
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

I support this. I mentioned something alike, when I suggested to use a 'custom' subdirectory where customizations could be stored. If a config files exists, ISPC should use the custom file and not the standard. Upgrading would be much easier. All defaults can be changed. If a custom ISPC config files exists, only a warning should be given during the upgrade phase. It's then the responsibility of the server admin to check for inconsistencies. This trick is also used by DirectAdmin. We should make this a RFE.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd February 2007, 13:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

Quote:
But maybe the installer can reate a "backup-dir" and copies the "old" files there, so that i can recopy the "old" files over then "new" ones.
The setup script is doing this already, its not a directory, its a tar.gz file. Have a look at your /tmp directory, there are 2 tar.gz files and a SQL dump. These backups should be removed from /tmp/ when you verified that the update worked as expected.

Quote:
I support this. I mentioned something alike, when I suggested to use a 'custom' subdirectory where customizations could be stored. If a config files exists, ISPC should use the custom file and not the standard. Upgrading would be much easier. All defaults can be changed. If a custom ISPC config files exists, only a warning should be given during the upgrade phase. It's then the responsibility of the server admin to check for inconsistencies. This trick is also used by DirectAdmin. We should make this a RFE.
Yes, I think this makes sense but the installer will have to be rewritten for this. A Drawback of this method is, that it will often result in a non working system while the curent installer ensures that your system works.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd February 2007, 13:28
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
 
Default

Quote:
Yes, I think this makes sense but the installer will have to be rewritten for this. A Drawback of this method is, that it will often result in a non working system while the curent installer ensures that your system works.
I agree it involves an extra question when problems are reported: "Do you have any file in the <where-ever>/custom directory? If yes, remove it (or check the differences)". But it will bring much more customization options to the skilled sysadmins.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Set Up A USB Drive for Backups? justjim HOWTO-Related Questions 2 28th April 2013 23:34
Problems in Automated Backups With rdiff-backup capricorn HOWTO-Related Questions 21 14th March 2007 12:59
Automated Backups With rdiff-backup Hans Server Operation 44 30th August 2006 16:17
Backups. Full and differential maxx General 3 12th January 2006 12:50
ISPConfig Backups SleeperZ Feature Requests 0 9th November 2005 09:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.