#1  
Old 19th February 2007, 18:46
ferradeira ferradeira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Settings - IP Address

I'm behind a nat, I have a local Lan IP on the server and a public static IP address on the Internet router/fw. The server will be also the primary name server.
What should be the IP address in management-server-settings- IP address ?

rgds
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th February 2007, 18:58
fireba11 fireba11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

any specific reasons for trying to set up a primary nameserver on a box with no public IP adress ?

that is not really a good idea usually
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th February 2007, 19:04
ferradeira ferradeira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, the Firewall gets the public IP and then port forward all the IP packets to the server behind the FW. Like this:

Internet------FW with public IP-------Server with LAN IP

this way I can have a server for web and another server for mail for example, I just have to forward the right IP ports to the right server.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th February 2007, 17:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferradeira
What should be the IP address in management-server-settings- IP address ?

rgds
You must always use IP addresses that you see in the output of
Code:
ifconfig
, so in your case that would be a private IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th February 2007, 19:53
ferradeira ferradeira is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, but if I use the private IP address, ISPConfig will use it to configure the DNS named files, instead of the static public IP address, is this correct?
The internet domains are registed using the static public IP address.
This is my doubt.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st February 2007, 23:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

You can modify all the DNS records using ISPConfig's DNS Manager.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
server management > ip address? littlened General 3 25th August 2006 09:20
Garbled dns queries bosei Installation/Configuration 8 6th February 2006 22:29
IP address / domain name settings during install SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 5 1st February 2006 13:29
Duplicate virtual hosts bosei General 13 22nd December 2005 17:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.