Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th July 2007, 00:07
vaio1 vaio1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 664
Thanks: 77
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Question FEDORA 7 Tutorial Problems: Strange problems

hy guys,

I have switch on the vmware with the Fedora 7 image but strange messages appears:


some other questions:
- I use a UMTS connection and the ip (192.168.0.100) is a default ip of a nokia mobile and I have not any network card enabled with a router or similar UNLUCKY

I would like to change this ip 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.1.100 how can I do?

Thanks

Last edited by vaio1; 10th July 2007 at 00:17.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th July 2007, 09:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Quote:
I have switch on the vmware with the Fedora 7 image but strange messages appears:
This seem to be some kind of harddisk access errors. Does your appliance work and do you have enough free space on your physical harddisk left?

Quote:
some other questions:
- I use a UMTS connection and the ip (192.168.0.100) is a default ip of a nokia mobile and I have not any network card enabled with a router or similar UNLUCKY

I would like to change this ip 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.1.100 how can I do?
Change the IP in the file /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 as described in 5)

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_server_fedora7_p3
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
mturillo (10th July 2007)
  #3  
Old 10th July 2007, 10:42
vaio1 vaio1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 664
Thanks: 77
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
This seem to be some kind of harddisk access errors. Does your appliance work and do you have enough free space on your physical harddisk left?
Yes I have enough space on the hard disk. The problem persist.

Another question about vmWare:
The network bridge on device Vmnet0 is down because I have not attached to a router. How can I connect to test the Fedora?

I have changed the /etc/hosts but the ip remain the same.

Code:
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.1.100           server1.example.com server1

::1             localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
after editing the hosts file I have shutdown the network device with:
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 up


Regards
Michelangelo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th July 2007, 11:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

/etc/hosts is the wrong file, please change it in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 as I posted above.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
mturillo (10th July 2007)
  #5  
Old 10th July 2007, 12:29
vaio1 vaio1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 664
Thanks: 77
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Done the ip has been changed. I have changed also the Broadcast and network address too in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0.

In order to use the network, how can I connect the windows and the Fedora? by Bridged? by HOST-ONLY?

When I type the "Z" the system write the "Y" and viceversa. How can I configure the Italian keyboard?

Thanks

Last edited by vaio1; 10th July 2007 at 12:35.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th July 2007, 15:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mturillo
In order to use the network, how can I connect the windows and the Fedora? by Bridged? by HOST-ONLY?
Bridged should work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mturillo
When I type the "Z" the system write the "Y" and viceversa. How can I configure the Italian keyboard?
Use an SSH client such as PuTTY to connect to the system instead of working directly on its console. If you use an SSH client, it uses the keymap of the host system.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
mturillo (10th July 2007)
  #7  
Old 10th July 2007, 15:56
vaio1 vaio1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 664
Thanks: 77
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

The problem was the VMware. My network wasn't bridged automatically. I had to change the configuration by the Network Editors panel.

Thanks
Michelangelo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 5 - MySQL Host Problems ezfilez HOWTO-Related Questions 2 28th September 2006 20:22
Fedora Core 5 install problems - cryptlib mxc Installation/Configuration 1 14th September 2006 19:41
Having problems with the Fedora 4 HOWTO Nanyo HOWTO-Related Questions 1 1st June 2006 16:41
Empty Recycle Bin jon335 General 40 6th May 2006 11:56
TPS Fedora Core 4 mail problems Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 4 14th February 2006 11:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.