#1  
Old 1st November 2005, 12:58
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Suse 10 new Hard Drive install

Ok what I have is a IDE 80gig Hard Drive installed which is /home/

What I want to do is add a xxxgig SATA drive and merge the two drives together to make a bigger /home/ drive without losing any information currently on the ide hard drive (/home/)

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st November 2005, 13:43
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,623
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,992 Times in 3,909 Posts
Default

Then you must shutdown the server, install the new HD, start the server again, run fdisk or cfdisk to partition the harddisk, the format the harddiskt with e.g. ext3.

Then i recommend to mount the new HD as e.g /mnt/tmp_home, copy all files from /home to the /mnt/tmp_home partition. Then change the /etc/fstab that your new hd is mounted as /home after reboot and then reboot your server.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st November 2005, 15:06
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

will this combine the two hardrives to make one /home OR is what you have said the way to replace one harddrive with another.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st November 2005, 15:11
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,623
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,992 Times in 3,909 Posts
Default

This will replace your home partition with a partition of the new harddisk. it will not replace the complete old harddisk. If you want to merge the new and old /home partition, you will have to use LVM (logical valume management) but I'am not sure if you can install it when the server is laready setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st November 2005, 17:39
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok I take it that fdisk does run under linux, ie from the root command line.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st November 2005, 17:41
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,623
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,992 Times in 3,909 Posts
 
Default

Yes, the partitioning program on linux is called fdisk too But you can also use the program cfdisk, which is easier to handle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cpan> install DB_File make error Nu2Linux HOWTO-Related Questions 6 13th April 2012 22:06
Suse 9.3 - Setting up the basics (File and Print Services) creativehook Suggest HOWTO 1 16th October 2005 20:50
Mix of Install Problems shawndb Installation/Configuration 5 15th September 2005 09:09
Nasty time with PHP on the install dkhird Installation/Configuration 1 11th September 2005 13:09
Fresh Install of FC4 using Perfect Install HowTo latcarf HOWTO-Related Questions 21 10th August 2005 22:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.