Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th February 2007, 08:33
jayramona jayramona is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IPCOP Not Connecting on Red Side

I am doing a simple Green-Red configuration using two ethernet cards. I have gotten the green side working (a windows machine receives an address and can connect to ipcop machine via browser). My plan is to migrate to Linux, working back from the firewall, so the XP machine is going to Linux once I get the IPCOP machine working correctly. I just can't find the right place that spells out the point I am having trouble with (red zone via dsl modem).

The hardware/ISP info:

PII 350 mhz, two PCI ethernet cards - recognized and configured automatically.

Internet is to be accessed via Verizon DSL, through Westell DSL modem.
When connecting directly through the DSL modem (XP to DSL modem), ipconfig reveals (and I don't see PPOE listed there, just DHCP):

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>ipconfig /renew *

Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.110.22.161
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.110.22.1
C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : prodxptest
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Com
plete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-DA-7B-D1-47
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.110.22.161
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.110.22.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.110.22.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.238.64.12
68.238.128.12
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2007 9:44:12
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 15, 2007 11:44:12
PM
C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>nslookup 71.110.22.161
Server: nslala01.verizon.net
Address: 68.238.64.12
Name: pool-71-110-22-161.lsanca.dsl-w.verizon.net
Address: 71.110.22.161

So, I must be hung up on configuring the two red zone screens. I choose DHCP for configuration, rather than PPOE, because I have never seen any indication that is how I connect.

I tried leaving the fields blank which were allowed be blank when using DHCP (red connection). I also reinstalled IPCOP and entered the static DNS servers and gateway information listed above. These settings never gave any indication that the red zone was connecting to anything. When accessing via the browser, IPCOP always reported IDLE. And connect did not produce any results (no error messages).

I was unable to install the latest IPCOP, rather I am using the .10 version, not .14 I was planning on upgrading once I got an indication I could connect.

I hope I provided the info needed, thanks.....

-Jay
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th February 2007, 17:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Maybe these links help you:
http://blogs.msdn.com/gzunino/archiv...29/201213.aspx
http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic70023.html
http://thomer.com/howtos/verizon_router.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th February 2007, 20:57
jayramona jayramona is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default PPPoe?

I will keep trying. I left the whole dump of a successful connection to see if anyone had an idea about how to get a good connection with IPCOP.

I have never needed my user name and password, just plugged into the modem and I was surfing (the connection would eventually fail but it worked).

So, if I AM required to use ppoe, I still don't know what my problem is.

I reloaded IPCOP using Green-Red configuration, and set PPoe. I used the username/password from the verizon website, but still didn't seem to get anywhere.

If someone has an idea about using a GUI linux distro to analyize what the connection must be, I could try that.

Bottom line is that it WILL respond to DHCP auto configuration requests from XP, or the router. The connection just fails after awhile.

So, I just need to know how to get to the bottom of this. Because PPoe config did not work, neither did another one.

I suppose I could test the red side by connecting it to my existing router, and see if it connects? Kind of hard to test the Red side since it won't work at all.

-Jay
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPCop falko Technical 24 28th April 2010 01:21
plz help me, IPCOP is my first step to migrate from windows to linux environment ra7eeel Installation/Configuration 3 16th April 2006 14:25
IPCop & Copfilter: Using IPCop DNS from Orange. slamp HOWTO-Related Questions 1 20th March 2006 23:20
ISPConfig configuration or ipcop firewall being the cuase of trouble? AZMel Installation/Configuration 6 15th March 2006 00:20
IPCop multiple green networks... PLEASE HELP vince Installation/Configuration 7 28th November 2005 14:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.