Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st October 2005, 10:08
Lil'Brudder Lil'Brudder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Question about 'localhost' as Hostname

Ok. I think I've beat this subject to a bloody pulp, but, I have one last question about the hostname when initially installing Linux and how it affects ISPConfig.

If, during the Fedora Core 4 setup, when it asks to "Set the hostname manually" for the hostname I use 'server.localhost', will this cause shortterm/longterm effects on the usability of ISPConfig?

I will be hosting 4 domain names and I don't really want have an association to the server with any of them. Basically, I just want the IP address resolved to an error message and all 4 domain names to resolve the their appropriate folder.

I can't think of any side affects doing this, but I don't know how all the ISPConfig interaction works and how the email server would react, if at all, having localhost defined initially as the domain name, and server as the host. I will probably have to use one of the domains for the Name Server, so, I'll have to bend the rule just a little in that case, but MySQL is already configured to run from the internal IP address, which is kind of what started me thinking about this. I was going to use the internal IP address, but it must have a name. Will 'localhost' work?

Any input on this would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st October 2005, 10:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

You have to keep in mind that you must use the URL you specifiy during installation to access ISPConfig. If you use server.localhost you have to use http(s)://server.localhost:81 in order to access ISPConfig. With localhost this won't work from remote systems!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st October 2005, 10:58
Lil'Brudder Lil'Brudder is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Cool

Ah. That's a good reason indeed!

I remember now that once I didn't have the host name correct and I had serious linking issues from within ISPConfig... I can imagine now the problems accessing it from anything but the server with the domain being localhost.

Thanks falco... as always, you're a genius.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 11:56
question Jordy Installation/Configuration 4 19th October 2005 17:39
What should hostname be? Lil'Brudder General 2 19th October 2005 11:08
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 13:46
Changing Hostname MyLinux General 1 5th September 2005 08:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.