#1  
Old 27th March 2007, 15:46
jamiewarner jamiewarner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Noob with issues

hi

Ive been dumped with the privalige of setting up our dedicated server, so i went for ispconfig after reading the forums here, as you guys make things sound easy! LOL how wrong was i!

Ive setup centos 4.4, and installed ispconfig and it seems to be working ok, other then 3 of the services. SMTP-Server: POP3-Server: BIND-Server: are all offline, and i cant figure out why, im quessing ive set up something wrong with the dns.

Could someone please have a look for me and point me in the right direction, i can provide access to box if needed.

the domain im using as main host is www.agentcrush.net and i was trying to setup 2 name servers on box so i can point all my domains to the same box (clan sites ect)

Many thanks for reading my post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th March 2007, 15:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Did you follow exactly the instructions for the centos enistallation:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_centos_4.4
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th March 2007, 15:52
jamiewarner jamiewarner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes i followed it as much as i could as i only have ssh/root access using putty, it did work fine untill i messed with adding more domains

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th March 2007, 16:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
Yes i followed it as much as i could as i only have ssh/root access using putty, it did work fine untill i messed with adding more domains
Ok, thats fine So we know better about which setup compenents we are talking.

Quote:
Ive setup centos 4.4, and installed ispconfig and it seems to be working ok, other then 3 of the services. SMTP-Server: POP3-Server: BIND-Server: are all offline, and i cant figure out why, im quessing ive set up something wrong with the dns.
Please post the output of:

netstat -tap

Quote:
the domain im using as main host is www.agentcrush.net and i was trying to setup 2 name servers on box so i can point all my domains to the same box (clan sites ect)
What do you mean with 2 name servers? You can always run only 1 nameserver. Please make sure that you did not add a primary and secondary record for the same domain in ISPConfig, otherwise bind will not start.

Your single bind server can act as primary and secondary ns for your domains without the need to add a primary and secondary record in ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th March 2007, 16:21
jamiewarner jamiewarner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thx

Hi

Here is the netstat results
Code:
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address               Foreign Address             State       PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 *:mysql                     *:*                         LISTEN      2982/mysqld
tcp        0      0 *:sunrpc                    *:*                         LISTEN      2705/portmap
tcp        0      0 *:10000                     *:*                         LISTEN      3619/perl
tcp        0      0 *:81                        *:*                         LISTEN      3342/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.com:81   host86-140-81-1.range8:3661 SYN_RECV    -
tcp        0      0 *:786                       *:*                         LISTEN      2724/rpc.statd
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.c:domain *:*                         LISTEN      6748/named
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.c:domain *:*                         LISTEN      6748/named
tcp        0      0 *:ipp                       *:*                         LISTEN      2833/cupsd
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.com:rndc *:*                         LISTEN      6748/named
tcp        0      0 *:smtp                      *:*                         LISTEN      4816/master
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.co:32862 uk2.net:http                TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.co:32867 uk2.net:http                TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.com:81   host86-140-81-1.range8:3662 ESTABLISHED 3345/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.co:32863 uk2.net:ftp                 TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.co:32868 uk2.net:ftp                 TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 server50236.uk2net.com:81   host86-140-81-1.range8:3658 ESTABLISHED 9071/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 *:imaps                     *:*                         LISTEN      3008/dovecot
tcp        0      0 *:pop3s                     *:*                         LISTEN      3008/dovecot
tcp        0      0 *:pop3                      *:*                         LISTEN      3008/dovecot
tcp        0      0 *:imap                      *:*                         LISTEN      3008/dovecot
tcp        0      0 *:http                      *:*                         LISTEN      3486/httpd
tcp        0      0 *:ftp                       *:*                         LISTEN      3601/proftpd: (acce
tcp        0      0 *:ssh                       *:*                         LISTEN      2878/sshd
tcp        0      0 ::1:rndc                    *:*                         LISTEN      6748/named
tcp        0      0 *:https                     *:*                         LISTEN      3486/httpd
tcp        0   4752 server50236.uk2net.com:ssh  host86-140-81-1.range8:2379 ESTABLISHED 6046/0
I did have 2 nameservers listed as ns1 and ns2 under settings, ive now removed this.

Thanks TILL for your time
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th March 2007, 18:17
jamiewarner jamiewarner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No good

Well ive got no where so far, nothing seems to solve my incompetence, has any guru got 5 mins to login and check whats wrong, before i ask for a reinstall of centos and start over.

Thanks JAmie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th March 2007, 18:29
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 268
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

both ns1, and ns2.agentcrush.net are pingable from here.
Also going to both IP's (http://IP) does show me the Apache default page.

However, I do get an error on your DNS with DNSreport (DNS timeout)(http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...agentcrush.net)

Is your DNS server running at the moment? Are you behind a firewall, and if so, did you open port 53, and forward it to the correct internal IP?

** EDIT ** Looking at DNSreport again, your DNS does reply! Looks like you are on the right track now..
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.

Last edited by edge; 27th March 2007 at 18:34.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th March 2007, 18:36
jamiewarner jamiewarner is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im getting confused now, till stated i can only have 1 name server per bind, I have 3 IPS on the box 2 of which are used for ns1 and ns2? can both ns1 and ns2 be on same box without issues? ive not actually done anything via bind just used webmin and ispconfig to make changes.

Is there a way to remove ispconfig and all traces of any setup to save a re-install of the os? Then i could start again, i think i need a re-install
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th March 2007, 08:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Im getting confused now, till stated i can only have 1 name server per bind, I have 3 IPS on the box 2 of which are used for ns1 and ns2? can both ns1 and ns2 be on same box without issues?
Yes. Please dont mix this up. You may point 100 subdomains like ns1 to ns100 to your server and it is still 1 name server per bind!

Quote:
ive not actually done anything via bind just used webmin and ispconfig to make changes.
Plesae dont use webmin to configure any service like bind, that is configured by ISPConfig too, or you will most likely mess up your setup.

Quote:
Is there a way to remove ispconfig and all traces of any setup to save a re-install of the os?
You can remove ISPConfig by running:

/root/ispconfig/uninstall

But this will only remove ISPConfig and will not "reset" your installation to a clean state. I think a clean reinstall of the system might be better.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bind issues with permissions always changing djtremors General 3 11th March 2007 12:58
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45
ISPConfig + Turck MMCache + Hardened-PHP - Any Issues? BobbyQ General 8 3rd May 2006 22:52
Install issues with PHP Part cksrealm Installation/Configuration 7 29th November 2005 18:55
Several minor issues dahljh Installation/Configuration 2 30th October 2005 22:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.