Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th February 2007, 11:46
laser laser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig behind a nat router and firewall

I have ISPconfig installed on a Fedora Core 6 system. I'm behind nat router (firewall) and I have made a rule that port 80 is forwarded to this server.
I have now only one IP address from my ADSL. I will register a domainname that point to my WAN IP. Now is my question. How does this server with ISPconfig know wich website he must give (I like to use only subdomains on it.) And How must i set the DNS in ISPconfig??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th February 2007, 15:18
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 147 Times in 128 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laser
I have ISPconfig installed on a Fedora Core 6 system. I'm behind nat router (firewall) and I have made a rule that port 80 is forwarded to this server.
I have now only one IP address from my ADSL. I will register a domainname that point to my WAN IP. Now is my question. How does this server with ISPconfig know wich website he must give (I like to use only subdomains on it.) And How must i set the DNS in ISPconfig??
If you want to use the DNS withing ISPconfig, you will need to open and forward port 53 also (UDP and TCP). Port 53 is used by the DNS server

If you want to keep things really simple, register a domain, and use the DNS from the registrar.

All you need to do than, is change the IP's that are in the registrar DNS to your IP (use the same IP in NS1 and NS2 from the registrar)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th February 2007, 07:56
laser laser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig behind a NAT router/firewall

Hi, in my server I use one ethernetcard. I like to host more than one domain on it. If I forward port 80 http and 81 https to the ISPconfig machine how does it know wich website he must display?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th February 2007, 09:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,213 Times in 4,088 Posts
Default

ISPConfig uses so called namebased vhosts, that means the the apache server uses the domain name to decide which website to display. You can host hundreds of websites on one IP address, as long as your hardware resources allow this
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th February 2007, 10:31
laser laser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How FTP works

Hi, I have it working and works ok. If I add a site it is working. If I connect to that site with FTP I get a loginsreen as I susspected but If I use the username and passwordt for that site I can't connect. How does this works And what password and username must I use for it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2007, 10:52
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

You must enable ftp access on the site in ISPConfig Control Panel and then use the username and password of the administrator of the account/site ie web1_user.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th February 2007, 11:44
laser laser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default steps to take

Ok so I have to make first a new client than a new site for that client and than I have allso create 1 mailbox with admin right to make it complete isn't it? The last step I forgot so that maybe the issue that I can't login into FTP.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th February 2007, 17:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Make sure that FTP is enabled on the Basis tab of that web site in ISPConfig, and then use an FTP client and log in with the user name and password of the user you created.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th February 2007, 23:42
djtremors djtremors is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 278
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

I have my test server inside a NAT as well and had issues where I had 2 scenarios.
1. I used the internal address which made apache work but DNS then recorded the internal IP or
2. I used the external address and apache wouldn't work because it listened to the external address which it didn't have (ie <VirtualHost 203.x.x.x:80>)

I ended up patching ISPconfig to use the *:80 method instead and works fine no matter if it's multihomed server, NATed or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th February 2007, 11:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,213 Times in 4,088 Posts
 
Default

Or you use may use iSPConfig wihout a patch by adding the external IP address in the DNS-Manager which is the recommended way.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Segment Router Setup - Not forwarding Packets jkane1517 Server Operation 4 3rd August 2010 19:48
ISPconfig in a home network zenny Installation/Configuration 25 3rd January 2007 18:19
Router Firewall banaantje12 Technical 3 20th December 2006 14:02
Maybe ISPConfig firewall problem? DennisDee General 1 21st June 2006 11:55
ISP-Ubuntu breezy ispconfig dns email e-mail working finally yellowjelly HOWTO-Related Questions 0 19th November 2005 20:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.