Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th February 2007, 06:02
jpchalifoux jpchalifoux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to jpchalifoux
Thumbs down A really newbie need help

Hi
1 month ago i know nothing about linux, ispconfig,and all i need to have a web server and hosting website for a few non profit organisation here in Montreal. So i manage to install Unbutu 6.10 and ispconfig on a old machine that i have (PIII 800 512 meg 180g hd etc...) Everything went perfectly well installing ispconfig following instruction of The Perfect setting of Ispconfig on a Ubuntu server.........................)

I have a domain name enxxxxxxxxxxxx.ca

My registar have register my name server pointing to my static ip address.

The server use internal adress of my router 192.168.2.xxx, i have open the port 21 thru 110 on my router to point out to my internal ip address. So far everything is working perfectly when i type my domain name enxxxxxxx.ca i see a page on the web.

The problem is when i create a customer (my friend in fact) and is web site on ISPconfig, and i try to reach is web site nothing append.

He has in fact register my nameserver to is registar, pointing to my server ns1.enxxxxxxxxxx.ca and ns2.enxxxxxxxxxxx.ca

Can somebody help me in a simple non-expert language on this matter pls

Thanks in advance, i hope i've give enough information.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th February 2007, 12:45
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Code:
The problem is when i create a customer (my friend in fact) and is web site on ISPconfig, and i try to reach is web site nothing append.
Don't you see anything?
I am also a linux newbie with ISPConfig installed on my server. And had an simular problem in the beginning. My other site was pointing to an shared ip adress. That was what I saw on the net.

That was solved with the use of the "create dns" on the basis tab. did you enable that one.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2007, 14:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,703 Times in 2,546 Posts
Default

Please run
Code:
dig yourfriendsdomain.com
Does it point to the correct IP address?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2007, 19:45
jpchalifoux jpchalifoux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to jpchalifoux
Default Here what i got from dig

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> paxxxx.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 19173
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;paxxxx.net. IN A

;; Query time: 214 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Feb 11 14:41:21 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 29

But the right adress is suppose to be 192.168.2.199 and not 192.168.2.1

192.168.2.1 is the adress of the gateway
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th February 2007, 09:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,647
Thanks: 794
Thanked 5,003 Times in 3,912 Posts
Default

Quote:
But the right adress is suppose to be 192.168.2.199 and not 192.168.2.1

192.168.2.1 is the adress of the gateway
The gaetway is queried if your local DNS server is not authoritive for the domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2007, 14:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,703 Times in 2,546 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpchalifoux
; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> paxxxx.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 19173
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;paxxxx.net. IN A

;; Query time: 214 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Feb 11 14:41:21 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 29
There's no answer section, so there's no A record for the domain. Please create one, and make it point to a public IP address, not a local one.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie stupid questions alexcalex Suggest HOWTO 2 9th February 2007 12:38
Newbie question - traffic monitoring Charlotte Chanty General 7 23rd January 2007 17:03
ISPConfig installation newbie tproxy Installation/Configuration 9 26th September 2006 21:45
Newbie starter guide on making site online kapatid General 10 9th May 2006 00:12
Help! Real newbie having problems installing Linux t-kiss Kernel Questions 5 4th April 2006 15:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.