Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd February 2007, 22:30
Mav Mav is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 404s are now "Your temporary license has expired"?

I've recently ran an apt-get upgrade and now the 404s are not normal 404s anymore but instead it just says "Your temporary license has expired" in the page.

My setup/versions:
Debian Sarge
Apache/2.0.54
PHP/4.4.4-0.dotdeb.3 with Suhosin-Patch mod_ssl/2.0.54 OpenSSL/0.9.7e

I thought it may have to do with dotdeb, since this only started happening after I updated those packages. But I can't find anything wrong with the config files of apache or php. And the errordocument paths are still correct in the apache config files. I have no idea where to look for why this is happening..

Maybe something separate, but in phpMyAdmin it says "MySQL client version: 4.1.15". But if I do a "select version();" it returns "5.0.32-Dotdeb_1.dotdeb.1-log". So I think something has gone wrong there too.

Any ideas, tips?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th February 2007, 11:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

Quote:
"Your temporary license has expired"
This does not look as this messages comes from one of the open source linux applications. Do you have some commercial web application installed that requires a licence key?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th February 2007, 11:55
Mav Mav is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, not at all. Unless the dotdeb packages have something like that, but I doubt it. I only installed things with apt-get update/upgrade/install, and that stuff is all open source right?

Last edited by Mav; 4th February 2007 at 12:25.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th February 2007, 12:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mav
I've recently ran an apt-get upgrade and now the 404s are not normal 404s anymore but instead it just says "Your temporary license has expired" in the page.
Do you remember which packages were scheduled for upgrade?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th February 2007, 13:18
Mav Mav is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, no not exactly. It was mostly the apache/php/mysql stuff that got upgraded. And I think one or two packages not related to the apache/php/mysql stuff. But those must have been just normal updates of debian, I never installed anything fancy, it's just default debian with dotdeb lamp packages.

Maybe there is a log that keeps track of updates?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th February 2007, 14:49
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

On Debian / Ubuntu you can find a history of what's being done in
Code:
/var/log/dpkg.log*
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th February 2007, 15:51
Mav Mav is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Edit: Well, I thought I had found the problem. But I didn't. After fiddling with the apache config it now no longer gives the weird license message. I don't know why, and I can't reproduce the license message again either.

Too bad I can't figure out why it displayed that weird message. But I'm just glad it's working as normal again... thanks for the help!

Last edited by Mav; 5th February 2007 at 16:00.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMWare Server Free License - Invalid bardgd HOWTO-Related Questions 6 19th November 2006 17:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.