Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd February 2007, 01:51
R0l@ndSm0ke R0l@ndSm0ke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Perfect Sarge Setup How-To Question

Well, I'm really getting frustrated with the php_admin_flag issue and other php issues from ISPConfig, Apache2 and PHP5 on OpenSuSE 10.2. Problem is I have previously attempted to perform the perfect Sarge setup on the same system that I currently have OpenSuSE running on.

At the first reboot of Debian Sarge I get stuck. It seems to be a relation between GRUB and the choice of primary boot drive. I'll try to paint a picture to see if one of you Debian lovers can help me work through it.

Hardware:
IBM Intellistation M Pro (6850-N5U)
2-18GB U160 (partitions: 1.5GB swap sda, /root sda, /usr sdb)
1-120GB EIDE (partitions: 500MB /boot, 20GB /var, 99.5GB /home)
2-XEON 2Ghz 256K cache (no 64 bit support)
512MB RAMBUS 800

When the system reboots (depending on primary boot device specified in BIOS) it either reports no OS or GRUB prints across the screen ad infinitum.

Any ideas on this one? I reported the bug on at Debian, but have not received a response. My report was also an addendum to someone else that encountered an identical problem with Woody.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd February 2007, 14:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you install GRUB to the recommended location (the Debian installer highlights the recommended location - normally it's the MBR).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd February 2007, 15:45
R0l@ndSm0ke R0l@ndSm0ke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I started off letting it install where ever it wanted to. In most cases, I could put /boot on sda and it would still state it was installing it on hd0. After a couple of attempts I went back to the control menu and tried to tell it where to install and that still produced the same results.

I even tried the LILO install on it and that didn't work at all. I didn't even get a LILO message like the GRUB GRUB GRUB printing I got with GRUB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th February 2007, 14:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Hm... Have you tried Ubuntu instead of Debian? It's based on Debian, but usually has newer packages. Maybe the problem will disappear then.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th February 2007, 16:39
R0l@ndSm0ke R0l@ndSm0ke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm testing the Sarge install on a different box.

Is it normal to see

quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel

during when you use quotaon -avug?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th February 2007, 13:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R0l@ndSm0ke
Is it normal to see

quotaon: Quota format not supported in kernel

during when you use quotaon -avug?
No. Quota is enabled in the normal Debian kernel. Did you install a custom kernel?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th February 2007, 21:26
R0l@ndSm0ke R0l@ndSm0ke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I installed Sarge 3.1r4 and performed no customization of the kernel before, during or after.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th February 2007, 14:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you type
Code:
linux26
at the boot prompt of the Debian install CD?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th February 2007, 17:26
R0l@ndSm0ke R0l@ndSm0ke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, I must have overlooked that part of the how-to. I'll be performing another install on the intended master server tonight and will make sure to pop that in.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th February 2007, 06:00
R0l@ndSm0ke R0l@ndSm0ke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I installed Debian on the IBM Intellistation again.

Partitioning
IDE hda:
/boot
/var
/home

SCSI sca
/root

SCSI scb
/usr
swap

On the first reboot I get error 17.

So my next attempt, I disconnected the SCSI entirely. Upon first reboot:
GRUB hard disk error.

I've searched out the error 17 issue and it looks like I could boot from GRUB floppy, but I'd rather avoid that if possible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about the The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1) page 3 paulley Installation/Configuration 2 1st December 2006 01:33
SNORT and BASE on a CLEAN "The Perfect Setup - Debian Sarge (3.1)" edge Suggest HOWTO 5 10th September 2006 00:07
perfect setup suse 10 - phpmyadmin & mysql question reddog Server Operation 7 17th June 2006 12:59
Perfect Setup Debian Sarge 64bits Pc question toyito HOWTO-Related Questions 1 19th May 2006 20:32
Debian Sarge, ISPConfig, perfect setup followed, email can't login! Zoon Installation/Configuration 3 12th February 2006 20:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.