Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th January 2007, 11:08
xomoxo xomoxo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Several TIME_WAIT with apache2

Hi to all,

This is my first post, and I want to say that this webpage have been so useful to me.

I have a problem with Apache2 and several TIME_WAIT connections. The hardware is a Dual Xeon 3,6 Ghz, and 3,5 Gb of RAM. The systems have:

Apache 2.2.4
PHP 4.4.4
Mysql 4.1.22
Eaccelerator 0.5

When I start apache, it start to create lots of TIME_WAITs connections, in a few minutes I can reach 800 or 900, and only 20 or 25 ESTABLISHED connections.

ServerLimit 240
MaxClients 240
Timeout 120
KeepAlive On
MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
StartServers 50
MinSpareServers 30
MaxSpareServers 45
MaxRequestsPerChild 100
KeepAliveTimeout 5

The SO is Debian 3.1 and the kernel is 2.6.8-3-686-smp.

Thanks to all.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th January 2007, 14:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Are there any errors in Apache's error log?

Did you have a look at this tutorial? http://www.howtoforge.com/configurin...um_performance
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th January 2007, 10:52
xomoxo xomoxo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, I saw this manual and I think that all the parameters are fine, in the error log there isn't any error. I think that maybe it's a Debian 3.1 problem, because on other server I install the same operative system with the same services, and I have the same problem. In this new system, I get a new kernel from the Backports, and the problem is there too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th January 2007, 11:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xomoxo
StartServers 50
MinSpareServers 30
MaxSpareServers 45
These values are a bit high, I'd say.
Have you tried something like

Code:
StartServers 5
MinSpareServers 5
MaxSpareServers 15
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th January 2007, 13:47
xomoxo xomoxo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually I have:

Code:
StartServers 40
MinSpareServers 10
MaxSpareServers 30
Because If it download the values start to appear messages in error_log like:

[info] server seems busy, (you may need to increase StartServers, or Min/MaxSpareServers), spawning 8 children, there are 8 idle, and 31 total children

(I get it sometimes with this configuration too).

Thanks for all.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st January 2007, 20:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

How many page views or visits do you have each day? Your server seems to be very busy...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd February 2007, 12:52
xomoxo xomoxo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We have more servers, and all is balanced between all of them, but we don't know why only two servers with Debian 3.1, have all this TIME_WAIT connections.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd February 2007, 14:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

You can try this:
Code:
Timeout 300
KeepAlive On
MaxKeepAliveRequests 100000
KeepAliveTimeout 4
MaxRequestsPerChild  100000
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSI with Apache2 on Debian jchaven Server Operation 7 25th August 2008 17:06
Apache2 without APXS ctroyp Installation/Configuration 8 29th January 2007 03:05
Web server offline after php4 and apache2 upgrade dfriis Installation/Configuration 11 7th December 2006 16:14
PHP on Apache2 no longer works after ISPconfig azorman Installation/Configuration 6 23rd July 2006 22:06
Big problem with apache2 on Ubuntu piratta Installation/Configuration 2 18th January 2006 17:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.