Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12th August 2007, 05:41
cortexx cortexx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default im confused as hell too

here is a whois on my domain

Registry Whois
Domain Name: ibcbrantford.com

Status: clientTransferProhibited

Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
Referral URL: http://www.networksolutions.com

Expiration Date: 2009-03-12
Creation Date: 2002-03-12
Last Update Date: 2007-02-27

Name Servers:
ns1.ibcbrantford.com
ns2.golden.net


my question is do i duplicate the 2 name servers here in ispconfig where it asks for name servers ?

here is my problem , after installing fedora 7 perfect server and ispconfig , i cant get my mail to work , it works on the lan ( server is behind a router and firewall , the associated ports have been opened and mapped to the servers lan ip ( 192.168.1.73 ).

when i am at home here is the error from outlook express ...

The host 'ibcbrantford.com' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'test', Server: 'ibcbrantford.com', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11004, Error Number: 0x800CCC0D

if i change the server address to the static ip number we use i get this

message :-

The connection to the server has failed. Account: 'test', Server: '209.239.7.238', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 10060, Error Number: 0x800CCC0E



any help would be appreciated thanks

another person that would be happy with " the idiots guide to dns servers and domain networking " hint hint !!!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 12th August 2007, 10:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

For DNS records you will have to use always the external IP. When primary and secondary DNS server are on the same server, you will pnly have to create a promary dNS record and not a primary and secondary record.

Have a look at the mail log for your email error.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12th August 2007, 17:32
cortexx cortexx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so in management>settings>server>dns , i have webservice.ibcbrantford.com enetered twice , should they not be :-

ns1.ibcbrantford.com
ns2.golden.net

that is the nameservers pointing to our domain from network solutions.

Or should I edit one of the network solutions settings to point to webservice.ibcbrantford.com ?

also , in management>settings>server , the ip of the server is 192.168.1.73 , shouldnt this be our outside ip which i think is 209.239.7.238 ?

thanks for helping out a dumb dumb
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12th August 2007, 19:42
jtheed jtheed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'm no expert, but if Network Solutions is also doing DNS for you then something is wrong because I cannot find your IP when doing an NSLOOKUP of your domain. So even if your DNS server is wrong, Network Solutions should be telling me the address.

I tried ibcbrantford.com , mail.ibcbrantford.com & www.ibcbrantford.com

None of them return an address.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13th August 2007, 19:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cortexx
so in management>settings>server>dns , i have webservice.ibcbrantford.com enetered twice , should they not be :-

ns1.ibcbrantford.com
ns2.golden.net

that is the nameservers pointing to our domain from network solutions.
As far as I see, your nameservers are ns.execulink.com and ns1.ibcbrantford.com:

Code:
dig ns ibcbrantford.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> ns ibcbrantford.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 19539
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ibcbrantford.com.              IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ibcbrantford.com.       172800  IN      NS      ns.execulink.com.
ibcbrantford.com.       172800  IN      NS      ns1.ibcbrantford.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.ibcbrantford.com.   172800  IN      A       209.239.7.238
ns.execulink.com.       172800  IN      A       199.166.6.2

;; Query time: 217 msec
;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
;; WHEN: Mon Aug 13 20:36:58 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 111
Quote:
also , in management>settings>server , the ip of the server is 192.168.1.73 , shouldnt this be our outside ip which i think is 209.239.7.238 ?
No, the IP address that you see in the output of
Code:
ifconfig
is correct.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 13th August 2007, 22:58
cortexx cortexx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK after some playing it seems that we can send and recieve emails internally on our new server BUT, when out of the local network (at home) we cannot authenticate to login and use the email system.

We have it setup that we have to log into the mail server before using it with the same login and password that is associated with the mail account in outlook , so why does the server not let us do this ? ..
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 14th August 2007, 09:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Any errors in the mail log? Did you configure SASL exactly as described in the perfect setup guide?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Setup Behind a Router/Firewall/Cable Modem kisong Installation/Configuration 2 1st August 2010 17:05
DNS Server questions BlueStream Server Operation 2 18th October 2005 18:47
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 12:46
ISPConfig and separate machines pfm.smits Installation/Configuration 1 11th October 2005 15:09
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 22nd August 2005 23:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.