Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th January 2007, 02:43
tomd tomd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Drupal and ISPConfig

I used the "Drupal on ISPConfig" howto to install Drupal into a site. I then create the administrator account (which then sends a password to me via email). Now whenever I try to login, Drupal takes the login an shows me a page - but the next link I click gives me an Access Denied response.

On the Drupal site I see many people are having this problem, but there appears the dozens of possible answers. This leads me to believe there are dozens of possible causes.

This setup worked fine when I had an earlier ISPConfig setup of Ubuntu 6.06 LTS, Apache2, MySQL4, PHP4. Now I am on Debian 3.1, Apache2, MySQL5, PHP5. In both cases I was using the Drupal 4.7.3 and the Drupal Howto.

I am continuing to search the Drupal site for clues, but hope someone here may have seen this problem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th January 2007, 13:42
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Can you post a screenshot or explain more detailed who is telling you access denied?
Drupal itself that e.g. the auth. cookie or whatever gets invalid after the request?
Or does it come from the apache? In this case you should take a look at the access.log of the apache to see which file the client tried to access that is denied.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th January 2007, 22:52
tomd tomd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It is most definitely Drupal that is denying access. It works like this:

1) Arrive at Drupal Site url, then login as administrator
2) Drupal responds with a page the shows your user name at the top of the left column
3) Clicking on any link causes Drupal to respond with the "Access denied" page and the left column becomes a login form.

I do not see anything in the Apache logs, the Watchdog table of Drupal database shows the login event and the access denied event.

I am still poking around looking........
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th January 2007, 04:33
tomd tomd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Solved my problem

This at solved my problem (although I think there are many reasons for login problems with Drupal).

Using MySQL5 I ran this statement in phpMyAdmin

sql-mode="STRICT_TRANS_TABLES,NO_AUTO_CREATE_USER,NO_E NGINE_SUBSTITUTION"

Then deleted the entire installation (including the tables of the database) and re-installed using the steps in the Drupal Howto with 4.7.6 (instead of 4.7.3)

It worked great.

I understand you can also add this to the my.cnf file:
sql-mode='MYSQL40'

but I am not sure how that works.

I found this solution in this thread at drupal.org http://drupal.org/node/42927
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th August 2007, 01:55
ego ego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 35
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomd
This at solved my problem (although I think there are many reasons for login problems with Drupal).

Using MySQL5 I ran this statement in phpMyAdmin

sql-mode="STRICT_TRANS_TABLES,NO_AUTO_CREATE_USER,NO_E NGINE_SUBSTITUTION"

Then deleted the entire installation (including the tables of the database) and re-installed using the steps in the Drupal Howto with 4.7.6 (instead of 4.7.3)

It worked great.

I understand you can also add this to the my.cnf file:
sql-mode='MYSQL40'

but I am not sure how that works.

I found this solution in this thread at drupal.org http://drupal.org/node/42927

Could anyone explain exactly how this statement would be entered into phpmyadmin? I just installed drupal using the how-to and I am also having this problem. I read the info linked but I can not find the my.ini file to edit as explained on the drupal forum.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th August 2007, 09:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,268 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

If you want to try the my.cnf solution: The file is named my.cnf and not my.ini on linux and should be located in either /etc/my.cnf or /etc/mysql/my.cnf. You will have to edit the file on the shell or with a scp client like winscp.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th August 2007, 18:14
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

If I remember correctly, you must log into phpmyadmin with the MySQL super user just run the given SQL in the server's SQL tab.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig, Drupal, and .htaccess jon335 General 23 16th November 2008 13:22
ISPConfig / Drupal v5.0 garland color not changing NuttyGambler Installation/Configuration 1 18th January 2007 20:25
ISPConfig stop working after i add a new site xTiNcTion Installation/Configuration 4 5th January 2007 23:55
Content Management System on ISPConfig server Steen Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 19th October 2006 16:40
CMS system maybe? gjcomputer General 10 10th October 2006 12:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.