Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Suggest HOWTO

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12th December 2005, 12:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

The correct line is:

add user to group script = /usr/sbin/usermod -G %g %u

I corrected it in the howto. I have the wrong line here on my test server for this howto too, so this error does not prevent machines from being added to the domain (in my installation).
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 12th December 2005, 13:23
rbelk rbelk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've gotten a little further, but I'm still getting the same error.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
The following error occurred attempting to join the domain "HOME":
Logon Failure: unknown user name or password.

But, it did add the host to /etc/passwd

The logs give a little more information....
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Dec 12 06:41:13 mydeb nss_wins[12336]: [2005/12/12 06:41:13, 0] passdb/pdb_tdb.c:tdb_update_sam(610)
Dec 12 06:41:13 mydeb nss_wins[12336]: tdb_update_sam: Failing to store a SAM_ACCOUNT for [mypc$] without a primary group RID
Dec 12 06:41:13 mydeb nss_wins[12336]: [2005/12/12 06:41:13, 0] rpc_server/srv_samr_nt.c:_samr_create_user(2350)
Dec 12 06:41:13 mydeb nss_wins[12336]: could not add user/computer mypc$ to passdb. Check permissions?

Last edited by rbelk; 12th December 2005 at 13:41.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th December 2005, 13:55
rbelk rbelk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did find the problem. It was in the TDB database. When I did a "pdbedit -Lv" I noticed that the domain that was listed in the users data was different than what was in smb.conf. I changed the domian in smbf.conf to the one that was shown in the TDB database and it worked. BTW, the domain in the TDB database was the hostname of my server!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th December 2005, 14:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
 
Default

Yes, in the howto the samba domain is identic with the hostname. I will add a remark to the howto.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.