Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Suggest HOWTO

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th April 2005, 12:15
alex alex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Samba as domain controller

Does anyone know of a howto that describes how to install Samba as a domain controller?

Alex
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th August 2005, 12:17
dante dante is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes, i am looking for this as well. please could one of the mod's reply to this, i need to get this running and im haveing a little trouble. Debian based with samba 3 - 2.4 kernel..

thanx in advanced

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd September 2005, 20:15
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
Default RE: Samba

Not sure if this is what you are looking for however it is worth a look.
http://www.aboutdebian.com/lan.htm
__________________
Thank You,
David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd October 2005, 22:35
zarkann zarkann is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

i hope you already figured out how to put samba as a PDC ,

i have found that few weeks ago when i was wondering the same

http://www.samba.netfirms.com/PDC.htm


i'm sure it will help people that asking the same question to themself
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2005, 05:06
ajay05 ajay05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What about a howto on the installation of a web front end for managing a SAMBA PDC
such as Idealx Management Console (Samba Console) I think that would be a challenge coz i've been tryin to install that for months now...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th November 2005, 21:44
decibel decibel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am using samba 3 as pdc for 2 years now. It was a little bit tricky the first time but in the end it was just a game.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th December 2005, 18:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Till has just written such a tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/samba_setup_ubuntu_5.10
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th December 2005, 05:40
rbelk rbelk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation

The tutorial on howtoforge.com does not appear to be complete though. Don't you have to add accounts for the windows pc's also.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th December 2005, 09:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

The Howto is complete. If you join the domain with a windows PC, the machine account is created automatically by the add machine script defined in the samba.conf.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th December 2005, 12:39
rbelk rbelk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Question

I copied this from the howto

# Useradd scripts
add user script = /usr/sbin/useradd -m %u
delete user script = /usr/sbin/userdel -r %u
add group script = /usr/sbin/groupadd %g
delete group script = /usr/sbin/groupdel %g
add user to group script = /usr/sbin/usernod -G %g %u
add machine script = /usr/sbin/useradd -s /bin/false/ -d /var/lib/nobody %u
idmap uid = 15000-20000
idmap gid = 15000-20000

Is the bold line correct? I don't have a command "/usr/sbin/usernod".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.